We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Robyn C
Gisborne, New Zealand

Top Accommodation

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Feb 2019
I cannot say enough good things about Harbour Lodge. The rooms are beautiful with wonderful views, the pool was perfectly heated and a good size, the communal lounge with balcony and view over the harbour lovely to be in and the owners the nicest and most obliging people you could ever wish to meet. This one of the best places I have ever stayed in locally or overseas.
Date of stay: February 2019
Room Tip: It doesn't matter which room you choose as all have views of harbour or bush.
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$197
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Harbour Lodge Wellington
Free Wifi
Pool
Guest room bath
$251
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
2.4 km from Harbour Lodge Wellington
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Deluxe King Harbour View
$206
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Harbour Lodge Wellington
Free Wifi
Pool
$164
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
4.1 km from Harbour Lodge Wellington
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
$125
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.8 km from Harbour Lodge Wellington
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$202
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
8.0 km from Harbour Lodge Wellington
Free Wifi
Restaurant
External Hero
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $137
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Harbour Lodge Wellington
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $166
  • Priceline
5.5 km from Harbour Lodge Wellington
Free Wifi
Sojourn Apartment Hotel - Ghuznee  Building Exterior
  • Official Site
    $152
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $170
3.8 km from Harbour Lodge Wellington
Free Wifi
Queen Studio with Shared Bathroom
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $81
  • Priceline
4.2 km from Harbour Lodge Wellington
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Wellington
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
11
3
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
11
3
0
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018

We only here for two nights prior to catching ferry (terminal very close), but would consider staying here even if not taking ferry. The location has great views of the harbour and the rooms extremely comfortable. Nice (shared) living room, which we enjoyed to ourselves; clearly this is not guaranteed! Breakfast fine. Some may find the steep driveway to park a little daunting, but there are options around this. Hosts very nice and friendly. We had two adjacent rooms (have a 6 year old daughter); very convenient (although we could have all fitted into one room - they are good-sized).

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Truly outstanding venue. The beautiful views, the sheep farm and herding demonstration are not to be missed. The family and staff who were are host were fantastic. Also the drive along Wellington Harbour to get to the Lodge was breathtaking.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dsm125
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We spent 5 nights at Harbour Lodge and it was just great ! Lou and Chris were so welcoming and friendly - they kindly got us takeaway on our first night and it was great to spend time to get to know them at Breakfast. It was a busy time as it was the Lions rugby weekend but we always felt at home and relaxed. The views are wonderful and the lodge is an amazing place to visit . Thank you !

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizzabethSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

What a find... 4 nights at this great B&B. 4 letting rooms. Our room had partial view of Wellington harbour, v comfy, big bed, well equipped, nice and warm. Powerful shower, heated bathroom and bedroom. Fab continental breakfast. Use of big guest lounge overlooking harbour, pool (in summer) and hot tub (all year). Free parking. Lou and Chris made us feel very welcome and couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Very short, hilly, easy drive into city. Tricky to find, so do ask the owners for directions. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CAROLE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lou_Elliott, Owner at Harbour Lodge Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thanks for that. It was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay, and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

This accommodation is truly the essence of what we expected form a B&B , warm friendly and spacious with all the amenities that you would expect and more.
Located just out of the CBD this B&B is perfectly located with stunning views of Wellington harbour.
Our hosts Lou and Chris were friendly and welcoming, they have both traveled extensively and know all the favoured attractions the city has to offer.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CaraO102
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews