We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Wellington’s finest!”
Review of The Larder

The Larder
Ranked #9 of 922 Restaurants in Wellington
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 27 August 2020 via mobile

Beautiful fresh sourdough, Salmon and Scrambled eggs for breakfast. Perfect coffee, a cozy warm atmosphere, & kind attentive service. In-house made bread and pastry is a highlight, all at a fair value. The larder gets it all right.

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank joshlaneynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2020 via mobile

I tried to book as so many places are closed , spacing for social distancing and I’m coeliac so I called to make sure we could get a table.
They said not to worry - they would have a table. I called again to check that they were ok with my being coeliac- yes🙄 that’s fine.
Never been before just heard good reports so I didn’t know whether it was an innovative, quirky place for brunch or bready/ pastries type place.( it was the latter!)
I’m sure they thought I was over the top calling twice and sure enough when we arrived we found them a little distant and a touch condescending.
The choices were good, we shared three dishes and they were amazing.
Such good food.
Perfect- but I didn’t like the attitude towards us though the staff were really chatty to regulars.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank kiwibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2020 via mobile

After coming out of the Weta workshop we headed in here for some late lunch, it’s a nice looking restaurant/cafe but the quality of the food takes your breath away, I had the buttermilk fried chicken burger with shoestring fries and homemade aioli and my wife had the beef fillet with onion rings and fries. It was all fantastic, a must.

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank 652stuartb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2020

I cannot praise The Larder highly enough. It is providing an excellent
service with its takeaway menu during the difficult Covid-19 period.
We have been several times in the past week (self indulgent I know) - delicious chicken burgers, delectable Greek lamb gyros, tasty buttermilk chicken wraps and of course bacon and egg sandwiches - all thoroughly enjoyable. This is provided by the cheerful and friendly staff and client focused and efficient owners. Always a firm favourite with us in normal times but wonderful just now. Thank you

Date of visit: May 2020
Thank 62helenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2020 via mobile

Fresh tasty and well presented food. Have eaten this style of food regularly and I couldn’t fault this. Made my wife smile because it was so refreshing. Parking a knightmare and you may wait but it is work it. Try the soufflé. Subtle but delicious food at its best.

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank johnmorgan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Larder also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The Larder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.