We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy pre-show dinner”

Siem Reap Restaurant
Reserve a table
Ranked #16 of 920 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We serve traditional Cambodian food using our home recipes and the finest, market-fresh local ingredients. Siem Reap restaurant and their staff have been cooking for locals and visitors to the capital in their welcoming, spacious restaurant at 99 Dixon Street, Wellington, since 2007. (Near the corner of Dixon and Willis streets.) Whether you're looking for a Cambodian meal for two on the wing when you're in town, or you're organising a banquet-style dinner or lunch for a corporate group, then Siem Reap's inviting menu options, expert kitchen crew, and friendly front-of-house staff await you. Siem Reap restaurant is named after the region and city in Cambodia that is the gateway to the ancient temples of Angkor. Siem Reap has reinvented itself in the 21st century as the heartland of chic Cambodia for travellers.
Reviewed 6 February 2022

We were warmly welcomed and received excellent service and yummy dishes from the team at Siem Reap. We could not fault a thing. We definitely recommend the shared platter - which allowed us to sample a bit of everything.

Date of visit: February 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cjrlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2021

The front of house staff were very friendly and accommodating. I got the stir fried king prawn dish and asked for it spicy. The prawns were really nicely cooked, good portion. Just found it too oily and sweet/syrupy. Needed more freshness and spicyness, some acidity too.

I would go back as the value was quite good and my friends seem to enjoy their meals, which included a nhorm salad and green curry.

Next time i'd like to try the nhorm salad or salmon.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MEDD_117
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2021 via mobile

The food was delicious and the portions were generous. Restaurant had a nice ambience and friendly, efficient service.
Clean toilets.
Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Justine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2021 via mobile

What was once a great restaurant with fabulous authentic Cambodian food is now a shadow of its former self. The meals were poorly executed, the fish was less than fresh (as soon as it was placed on the table the smell wafted across the whole restaurant), the peanut sauce had little or no peanuts in it (it was mostly coconut cream) and most of the dishes served to our large party were lacking in flavour or the main protein advertised. There was a complete lack of the fresh, vibrant flavors of Cambodian food. Staffing levels were completely inadequate for the number of people in the restaurant and service was slow. The young lady who took our orders was the only person who did a great job, managing a large group with skill and repeating back our orders to ensure she had gotten everything correct. The staff failed to check our meals were up to standard and wait times for food and drink for our party were simply ridiculous. This is despite the restaurant being almost empty. I had been told and was expecting some delays due to the size of our party (12 people) but service was of a poor standard. Wait staff were bringing out mains when the table still hadn't been cleared of the starter plates. We had to ask to have them removed so that the mains could be put down. No one was checking our table to see if we needed anything nor did anyone check to see if drinks were required. There simply was no attention to detail and it was obvious that the wait staff were untrained. All of this could be excused if the food was fabulous and the pricing was reasonable. It was not. Having frequented Siem Reap since it's inception I was truly disappointed to see whats its become. Double the prices for half the quality. I won't be crossing their door again.

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank Dutchwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2021 via mobile

Siem Reap make consistently fantastic food. It’s a beautiful space, location is great and every time I’ve been, every guest goes on about how great their meals are.

Last night though was just next level, it was my first time dining out with a plethora of food allergies (soy, dairy and very recently diagnosed gluten- it’s a mess) we also had a vegan and 2 coeliacs at our table (allergies run in the family) and the server went out of her way to talk to the kitchen, came back with a list of things that could be done for me. I’ve been served by this gal before and she is just so lovely, nothing is too much trouble (even though behind the scenes we’re almost definitely a real pain in the ass).

Just so she gets credit- she’s blonde and I’m almost certain she used to work at Aro Cafe. My family is a bit challenging- majority of them have never worked hospitality- and she was just so kind.

It’s just really nice to go out and not come home feeling sick.

Thank you! We will be back! And I won’t have to get the list made again!

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank 86ambero
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Siem Reap Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Siem Reap Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.