We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly authentic ”
Review of La Bella Italia

La Bella Italia
Ranked #43 of 1,070 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: Deli, Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: From the moment you step through our door, you will feel like you are in Italy. A unique combination of a Restaurant, Cafe and Retail shop, La Bella Italia in Petone, Wellington was born from director Antonio Cacace's passion to educate Kiwis about the beauty of traditional, authentic Italian products and cuisine.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As soon as you walk in view of the restaurant, the tables and chairs outside provide a warm and authentic environment which is exactly what the whole experience is like.

The venue itself and the decor is fantastic. With a homely feeling being nestled between the shelving with their incredible ingredients for sale, and the mouthwatering cheeses and deli, you get the sense of being somewhere where you will be treated like family.

While the food is up there with the best in Wellington, it is a very hard thing to do to combine great food with a warm vibrant environment but they achieve this here. Whether it is pizza or pasta, everything we tried was delicious.

Really recommend coming here and also recommend ending the night with one of their gelatos.

The staff seemed to be very helpful and friendly and being Italian definitely helped add to the authentic feel.

Overall fantastic restaurant and highly recommend whether it's couple's, families or anything else.

Thank kiwidrummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBIManagement, Guest Relations Manager at La Bella Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for coming to La Bella Italia. It thrills us to know you had such a positive, warm and homely experience. This is exactly what we try to offer here: An authentic Italian experience which transports our customers to the very heart of Italy, its food, culture and traditions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wow, just wow. Mark made our night spectacular with his amazing service and well timed humour. He had a read on everyone at the table making his interaction so personal and quite frankly made our night.

There were 12 of us and the food, atmosphere and service were world class. We had people here for an event from all round NZ and Australia and it set up our weekend and remained a well talked about highlight.

Thank you Mark, thank you La Bella, wonderful.

Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBIManagement, Guest Relations Manager at La Bella Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Ciao Steve, It gives us much delight to know you had such a wonderful time at La Bella Italia with your well traveled group. Our wish is that every customer experiences the wonderful Italian traditions and culture that we hold dearly - family time round a table of quality, tasty & delicious, well prepared food. Mark will be pleased to know that he was able to contribute in such a positive and meaningful way to your evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Watch out! When you go for dinner they offer you sparkling or still water (as though it's a free option), and if you choose sparkling, they charge you $9 at the end of your meal per bottle. A very sneaky up sell we did not think was cool.

2  Thank NZreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBIManagement, Owner at La Bella Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

This is a ridiculous review. Sneaky??? What do you mean? Or what are you trying to say? At the table we offer options for tap water or sparkling water, we offer options for soup choice, we tell at the table the specials of the day which are like an offer. Do you think or you hope that all these specials on offer should be free? I am very surprised, and at the same time disappointed that an organisation like Trip Advisor gave permission for something like this to be published.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

We went here for a birthday meal. So sorry not to see Louisa, but Antonio looked after us so well. Eight happy faces and full tummies. We have been here on several occasions and it is the same standard each time. We know we will always have lovely food and all our party was catered for. From children to vegetarian. Thank you so much , see you soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank skylarkGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBIManagement, Guest Relations Manager at La Bella Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for coming to La Bella Italia for a birthday celebration. We are so glad you were able to have such a lovely party and that you enjoyed the food so much. Louisa would have loved to have been there to greet you and looks forward to seeing you next time you are in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

I’m not really sure why people go to this restaurant- it’s not even average.

Calamari tasted like oil and not calamari.
Risotto was so bad I just couldn’t eat it and the ravioli tasted like butter - not the pumpkin we’d been promised.

Atmosphere is great if you like dinner in a noisy brightly lit barn. Won’t return when there are so many good restaurants nearby.

2  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam V, Owner at La Bella Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Hi Sarah,

who do you think you are? On the same day you have made 4 other reviews for other places. You are quite busy in writing reviews. In one of these reviews you mentioned that your MIL is a Restaurateur. This is even worst and it shows how unprofessional and unkind you are and this is why I have started my answer to you asking who do you think you are?? I don't think so you have been to la Bella Italia. In fact why have you not put La Bella Italia under Lower Hutt, as we are and as the other places that you have reviewed which are very close to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bella Italia also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to La Bella Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing