We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
109
185
97
39
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
185
97
39
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstory streetcourtney placegreat locationfull size fridgewashing machinestreet noisecourtenay placeone bedroom apartmentte papadining tablepool and gymgreat apartmentinner citycomfortable bedcar parkingfree wifilounge area
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Booked very far in advance for homegrown weekend and booked city view two bedroom apartment. Had a balcony overlooking the city off one of the rooms and lounge. Second bedroom had no window at all but was perfect for sleeping in as no light from the windows. The beds were so comfy and clean. Loved the deep bathtub. Excellent kitchen facilities. Carpets were dirty but that doesn’t bother me. Comfy couch. Great location. The reception staff were absolutely excellent. Great housekeeping too. I’d stay again. I’ve stayed before in a penthouse suite last year and it was 10/10

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Emmamaeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thanks for your review. Great to see you had a good weekend and that the weather held out for the festival.

Good news we have new carpet coming and this should be installed very soon.

Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

This hotel was part of a road trip, booked by an agent, and only used for one night. Staff were good and very polite. Bed linen was very clean but the room itself was tired. The leather sofa was grubby and not something you would want to sit on. It had a loose cover on the seat that was hiding the grime. Surprisingly no restaurant or bar. Not ideal if you have been traveling but plenty of eateries in the area. Room was on the ground floor with a multi story car park about 3 metres from the window. You couldn't have the patio door open as people could walk in from the car park. I doubt that the photograph on their website is representative of the majority of rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dennis886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your comments. We always recommend our city view rooms to guests they definitely have a better outlook. We are about to start a refurbishment project on the hotel the first step is carpet then we are moving onto the furniture.

We hope you had a safe trip home.
Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We had a front room and the noise from the garbage collection in the street was extremely loud on Friday morning.A nice well equiped kitchen.
Maryanne on reception was extremely help full with some IT issues I had and her advice on how to see Wellington by foot in a day was spot on.We were blessed with great weather.
The pool seemed to be an after thought and I would not recomend anyone using it was most un appealing.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiska1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your review. Maryanne is a gem and we love having her on the team.

Thanks again
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

First of all let me say that the staff was great and the location is central to a lot that Wellington has to offer but the hotel itself needs some work. The carpets in the suite are less than clean with spots everywhere. The furniture, especially the couch was uncomfortable. There was no set of drawers in the bedroom to store clothing. The kitchen facilities are small with little storage and the storage that it does have is to high for most people. Our room was on the front of the building and the noise from the street was, at times very loud. The garbage gets picked up in the neighborhood at all hours and none of it quietly. The backpacking hostel just down the street has outdoor get together on good evenings that can get loud and last to the wee hours. Many nights we did get woken up at 3:30 am or 6:30 am overall very poor.......

Room Tip: ask for a room not on the front street
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank martyvdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Manager at Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your comments. Sorry to hear that the street noise disturbed your stay. We are planning our next stage of upgrade the carpeting being first on the list.

Kind regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Nice well equipped room. The lack of air conditioning was not an issue when we stayed. The location is really good being an easy stroll to most of what you want to see in Wellington.
Getting in and out of the car park is initially a bit confusing and we ended up lugging cases up and down stairs.
Staff friendly and helpful.
I’d come back if I was in Wellington again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews