We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime food”
Review of Logan Brown

Logan Brown
Reserve a table
Ranked #10 of 922 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $70 - $95
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Taste of Our Place - Kia Ora, Kai, Kaitiaki. At Logan Brown, you'll experience a welcoming, inspiring and genuine taste of our place, our people and the produce that makes you proud to be a New Zealander. We opened in December Friday the 13th in 1996 and decades later it is way different but still the same! We have evolved with dining trends, service styles, taken opportunities with new product and techie innovations and of course will continue to do so. What has never changed is the sharing with our guests our true passion for our craft, our community and our country. We want everyone to be as proud as we are about New Zealand’s environment, the land and seas bounty, and the amazing people who harvest or produce from it. Working closely with these passionate producers inspires and excites the team who are proud to share their stories, and we always welcome new seasons and new to the market produce from suppliers and give it a go.
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Our experience of Logan Brown's exceeded our high expectations! It was a special occasion as it was my wife's birthday. Being new to Wellington we hadn't managed to visit LB's for dinner but had heard great things about the food. The "Meadow Vesper" cocktail I started with was a delicious martini variation. The food was as good as our favourite Auckland restaurant Clooney's and as good as the food we had at our wedding lunch in a 1 Michelin starred restaurant in London! Every mouthful of every dish was worth savouring especially the Stout Braised Beef Cheeks, Rare Beef, Local Lentils, Butternut, Lime & Chipotle. The French waiter was delightful and attentive.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fakepom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RWorth2015, Manager at Logan Brown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Thanks fakepom for the amazing review! We are absolutely rapt that you enjoyed your dinner with us and we will pass on your feedback to all of our team. We hope to see you in the restaurant again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 966 of 1,820 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2016

There is no better value in Wellington than the Bistro menu at Logan Brown. The three course meal we had on Saturday was exquisite. All three courses were first class. The service, as always, was friendly and to a standard you would expect from the best restaurant in a capital city. Highly recommended for lunch and dinner.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WellingtonPhoenixFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RWorth2015, Manager at Logan Brown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Thanks WellingtonPhoenixFan for the great review! We are so gald you enjoyed our $45 Bistro lunch. We look forward to seeing you in the restaurant again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Me and my parter had a lovely romantic dinner here a few months ago.. had high expectations as from what people where telling me and we were not disappointed.. delicious food great wine list and staff were friendly.. what more do you want. Definitely be back again

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank CrazyT89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RWorth2015, Manager at Logan Brown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Thanks CrazyT89 for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience and look forward to seeing you in the restaurant again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

A table of three on a Saturday night having the seven course degustation menu.

Service was great, waiter was new so did not yet have a handle on what he was serving us, but that added to the fun.

Six of the dishes were to die for, the cheese and crackers did not really fit, but possibly gave the chef(s) a bit of a breather (unfortunately I really do not like cheese).

Will be going back.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michelleR392NT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RWorth2015, Manager at Logan Brown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Thanks michelleR392NT for the review. We are glad you had an enjoyable evening with one of our new team. Look forward to seeing you in the restaurant again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

When we booked from OZ we where told the lunch menu was a feature to celebrate the All Black v Wales rugby game, so it was a themed lunch menu. During the meal we then found out the standard menu was available but was not offered this as an option when we arrived. The service was good, but not outstanding as we had read rave reviews that this was one of the top restaurants in Wellington. The themed menu was OK, one dish was the 'shepards pie' this was a deconstructed version with lamb as the feature, the other serve was a steak. Overall a pleasant meal , maybe the dinner service has more atmosphere as it was lacking at lunchtime. Will try this next time.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank OZ53Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RWorth2015, Manager at Logan Brown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Thanks OZ53 Traveller for the review. We are sorry about the mix-up with the menus, it was not our normal menu on offer it was just our Bistro Menu for people who are part of our Database as it was a special deal. Hopefully next time you join us in the restaurant you will be able to experience our normal menu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Logan Brown also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Logan Brown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.