We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious bagels just off Cuba Street”
Review of Best Ugly Bagels

Best Ugly Bagels
Ranked #64 of 1,034 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 February 2018

Great place for breakfast just off the trendy Cuba Street. Cool barn-like interior with tables and high bar stools, and absolutely full with people getting their daily bagel and coffee fix.

I went for the bagel with avocado tomato and basil and it was finger-lickin' good. Coffee was also OK, as was the value for money. Not a quiet place to chill and read a book as there's constant shouting of orders going on in the background - there's more a fast-paced energised sort of vibe. Certainly gets you going in the morning!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katharine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTUGLY, Manager at Best Ugly Bagels, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thanks for the lovely review Katharine. Yes fast paced and energised is how we roll!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

After 8km run around the harbour, I came here for breakfast. I read the previous reviews. Some of them wrote about the very noisy music. But I did not think it was that loud. J.C. was great, simple but nice.

Thank NokC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTUGLY, Manager at Best Ugly Bagels, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thanks for the review Nok. The J.C. is the perfect after run snack / treat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Just had a Bagel for breakfast. It had bacon, tomatoes, and avocado. It tasted like bacon,tomato and avocado on bread. Nothing special. Nice atmosphere.

Thank yadiloh38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTUGLY, Manager at Best Ugly Bagels, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thanks for the review. Luckily grilled free range bacon, sweet ripe tomatoes, creamy avocado, sea salt and cracked pepper is one of the best things it is possible to put on bread!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

We had this earmarked to visit when we were in Auckland, however, didn't make it. Luckily they have a location at the airport so we were in luck. It was hard to make a decision because the menu is so diverse (and all made with quality ingredients) I settled on a White Rabbit: cream cheese, basil, tomato, lemon-fennel olive oil served on a sesame bagel. I don't even know what was in the cream cheese, but prolly some of the best cream cheese of my life. The lemon-fennel oil made this dish bright and added to the overall flavor profile.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTUGLY, Manager at Best Ugly Bagels, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thanks for the awesome review Katie. We use Zany Zeus organic cream cheese - its creamy dreamy goodness for sure! Yes you are right the lemon fennel infused olive oil really lifts and balances this bagel nicely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

They really are the best bagels, not ugly at all. They are wood fired bagels. Never experienced anything like them before. We had ours with pesto and tomato slice. They were AWESOME

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gilbert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BESTUGLY, Manager at Best Ugly Bagels, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thanks for the great review Gilbert. So glad you got to try something new and that it went down a treat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Best Ugly Bagels also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Best Ugly Bagels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing