We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
24
51
45
25
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
51
45
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed here bus stop shampoo body wash ferry crossing main building queen bed dining table spa bath on arrival stay there again next morning lounge area new zealand staff were friendly and helpful spacious room central city cable car
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

This looks a very smart motel from a distance but while it’s being well maintained is beginning to feel it’s age. There’s a nice restaurant on site with a reasonable menu, food good, and the staff are very friendly and efficient. Wi-fi was good and free.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tekyinblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

We stayed here for 2 nights in February. My family had a larger suite upstairs, and my parents had a room downstairs.
Our 2-level suite was large - as you walked the bathroom (basin, shower and separate loo is on the left) then the kitchen. Our kitchen had a full sized fridge, all utensils, glassware and crockery, microwave and hotplates.
A fold out couch, 2 armchairs, dining table and TV were all on that level.
Stairs from the lounge area led to two rooms upstairs - one had a queen bed, and the other room had 2 single beds. The stairs led straight to the area with the queen, then you walked through there to get to the single beds room.
Everything was clean, tidy and comfortable. The bathroom had no toiletries as such, just a shampoo / body wash dispenser in the shower, but we had our own anyway.
From the lounge area downstairs is a sliding door to the balcony. The balcony runs along all rooms with no dividing walls, so it's not private nor secure, you couldn't leave the door open if you went out. We found we could hear a lot of noise from the motorway, but little to no other noise from the other rooms / guests.

Downstairs in my parents' room, it was similar but just on one level. Bathroom and kitchen as you walked in, then in the main area were the beds (I think two double) and a couple of armchairs. Mum commented that they had no motorway noise from downstairs.

Our room looked our over a large grassy area, and over to the camping sites - my daughters enjoyed watched people coming and going in their campervans and trying to put tents up. Looks like a great location for camping / campervanning.

The main reception area has a bar, restaurant and lounge area - they were great. We ate breakfast the two mornings in the restaurant, and dinner one night. Meals were reasonably priced, and a good selection of menu items. Great service.

We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peaches8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

Basically the car park behind the Motor Inn buildings divided into about 25 powered pitches and supplemented by a small facilities block which is really rather inadequate for the number of spaces. At $49 for two people it is overpriced for what is provided. It seems to be an afterthought added on to make a bit of extra cash from the car park. It is, however, probably the best placed site for access to Wellington city centre so is worth considering for the reason alone.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Emfromhants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

Great hotel not far from the city and close to the bus route. On arrival the staff were very helpful with checking in and about our plans to go to the cable car in the city. The meal in the restaurant was very nice and once again the service was first class. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jjw2763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

Capital Gateway Motor Inn is a wonderfully friendly motel in the Newlands district of Auckiand. It sits overlooking Centennial Highway and is about 20 minutes or so from the centre of Wellington.

For a motel, Capital Gateway is an excellent place to stay. It looks great from the outside and considering this is a motel it has a really impressive external appearance. The entrance is pretty grand and the lighting is excellent. The foyer and bar area are expertly decorated and it looks like a much more expensive place than it actually is.

The sleeping units are really nice. They stretch out for quite some distance as there are a lot of them all in a line. The units were in great condition with an extremely high sanitary condition. The shower area was great and easy to use. The bathroom in general was spotless. Towels were in excellent condition.

The main area was quite large and housed a double bed and a single bed. There was enough space to walk around. The beds were really comfortable to sleep on. Despite being at the end of the property with the car park and camping area there was no external noise really at all even on a celebratory evening.

The breakfast spread was typical of New Zealand and had cereal, yoghurt, fruit, bread for toasting and the like. Breakfast is an additional cost with more for cooked options. The eating environment was really pleasant and not at all busy. Although it was only a highway the windows overlook it was still a decent feel to the view.

Best of all was the incredibly kind and pleasant owner who has been in the business for 30 years. The motel certainly does not seem 30 years old as it is in terrific modern condition. The owner was a great person to chat with and made the stay feel even more comfortable and pleasant.

Capital Gateway is a motel but it is an excellent one and a great place to stopover.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malarchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews