We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
$240
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
sunnycoasttravellers
Peregian Beach, Australia

What a great hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Apr 2024via mobile
Loved everything about this place. The location is perfect with a very easy walk into the city and Oriental Bay. Staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, light and airy with quality furnishings. The bed was particularly comfortable with top-quality linen. We took a room with a balcony and it was wonderful in the afternoon with the sun streaming in. We would highly recommend this place and will certainly come back again.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Balcony rooms are great
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$140
  • Priceline
    $152
  • Agoda.com
    $130
  • Hotels.com
    $139
1.0 km from Ohtel Wellington
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Deluxe King Harbour View
Booking.com
$189
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • StayForLong
    $177
  • Priceline
    $183
1.4 km from Ohtel Wellington
Free Wifi
Pool
travelodge wellington hotel guest king room
Travelodge.com.au
$146
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
    $149
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Ohtel Wellington
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
Booking.com
$134
  • ibis
    $134
  • ZenHotels.com
    $127
  • Priceline
    $134
1.2 km from Ohtel Wellington
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Sojourn Apartment Hotel - Ghuznee  Building Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $141
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $170
1.0 km from Ohtel Wellington
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $140
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Ohtel Wellington
Guest room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Sofitel
    $260
  • ZenHotels.com
    $242
  • Booking.com
    $260
1.7 km from Ohtel Wellington
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $152
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Ohtel Wellington
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $161
  • ZenHotels.com
    $153
  • Novotel
    $161
1.3 km from Ohtel Wellington
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $199
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Ohtel Wellington
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Wellington
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
397
104
42
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
397
104
42
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel mid century great location oriental bay te papa the ground floor courtney place comfy bed new zealand courtenay place waterfront nz toiletries cbd ferry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2024 via mobile

Staff are lovely and the location is good. However for the price expect better internet access - there is fibre available in Wellington so no excuse really. Also our first room had no opening window and was very stuffy. We paid for an upgrade so we had fresh air however the cleaning smell, maybe carpet refresher ? was overbearing and the bathroom fan rattled all night. It's a shame when a good idea - mid century boutique - deteriorates into over priced 3 star accommodation.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Szandra Maczko, General Manager at Ohtel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2024

Kia Ora Alli

Thank you for sharing your recent review while staying with us and for your kind words regarding our team members, I will make sure to pass it onto them.

We are disappointed to hear you did not find your stay enjoyable at our property. Ohtel Wellington offers different room types, some of our basic room types are back facing with small windows only. Thank you for letting us know about the fan and WIFI issues these have already been addressed to the relevant teams to resolve.

Again, we appreciate the feedback given as we are constantly striving for excellence in guest comfort and an overall high guest satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2024

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Ohtel. Just across from the harbor promenade, the location is perfect. The small staff is warm and friendly. You are in walking distance to all of downtown Wellington but especially to the exciting harbor area, a great walk that ends with a new restaurant area right on the wharf. A grocery store (New World) is two blocks away.

Room tip: There are only 10 rooms in the hotel. I strongly recommend going for #10, which is on the top floor overlooking the harbor, with a balcony.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wc9828
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Szandra Maczko, General Manager at Ohtel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2024

Kia Ora

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are pleased to hear that you have found the location handy and that the team have provided a warm, friendly service, I will definitely pass this onto them.

We hope we will have the chance to welcoming you back one day to Ohtel Wellington or Auckland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2024 via mobile

Superb hotel, large room, large bathroom, great comfortable bed, quiet room, fridge, tea and new-resort coffee, amazing cooked breakfast, friendly helpful, hard working, professional staff, short walk to restaurants and centre of city, why you even looking to stay anywhere else, just stay here! If arriving in a car there is a 10 minute drop off spot in front of the hotel, parking at the museum of New Zealand, but just remember to check out before the 24 hours is up and check straight back in again for another 24 hours (for $40), otherwise……something drastic happens!

Room tip: Room 5 was great but imagine all the rooms would be nice.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Szandra Maczko, General Manager at Ohtel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Kia Ora Rita

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this detailed review of your recent stay with us.

We all appreciate that you pointed out what you liked the most and enjoyed the room facilities, food and beverage and the friendly service. Unfortunately the parking situation is a bit tricky in Wellington CBD but I am glad to hear that you were happy with carparking option at the museum.

It was our pleasure hosting you and again, thank you for your lovely feedback! We can not wait to welcome you back to Ohtel Wellington or Auckland in the future!



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2024 via mobile

Having stayed at the sister hotel in Auckland, which we found good we were expecting to enjoy ourselves at the Ohtel in Wellington and we did. It’s a small set up but ideally situated for seeing Wellington and it’s close to a couple of good restaurants. (We would highly recommend Rosella).

Our room was huge and very well equipped. The staff were friendly and efficient and went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

Would we stay there again? Definitely.

Room tip: Parking is an issue almost everywhere in Wellington but there’s a very good car park next to the Museum down the road from the Ohtel.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Chris_Morrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Szandra Maczko, General Manager at Ohtel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Kia Ora Chris

Thank you very much for choosing Ohtel Auckland and Wellington for your stay during your travels in New Zealand!

It was our pleasure hosting you both and we are thrilled to hear you loved the uniqueness of both of our properties.

I will pass your feedback onto our team and we hope one day we will have the chance to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2024

The staff were amazing and the room was large and clean, wonderful stay. Getting the newspaper was a really nice touch. The proximity to amazing places to eats is a huge plus and the coffee served at the cafe was nice.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SeabassNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Szandra Maczko, General Manager at Ohtel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2024

Kia Ora

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this lovely feedback.

We are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Ohtel Wellington, and I hope we will be hosting you back again in the future.

Ngā mihi

Szandra 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews