We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tapas”
Review of Franziska Seatoun - CLOSED

Franziska Seatoun
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We stopped in to Franziska for a light lunch after a walk. they serve a great selection of tapas. The liver pate and hummus were particularly good. Don't know what the more substantial dishes - pizzas and main course items - are like, but for a good selection of tapas, this place is ideal.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RoryW220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2017

Really nice experience. The staff are an interesting group of people, the food is an experience with several quite unusual items and while they have the usual mainstream drinks, they have several different coffees on offer that are not widespread. All the staff connect with their customers in a family sort of way and take trouble to explain and guide your choices if you are unfamiliar with the menu items on offer and are universally cheerful and interested in what they offer to customers. The courtyard at the back on a sunny day is lovely, with a real likelihood of a Tui singing in the tree that leans over one corner. very relaxing and casual with great food. Several staff are from Argentina and that seems to be the theme of the restaurant with the unusual items added from there (I think!)

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Heliboy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We didn't know this place existed, we haven't been to Seatoun for years. We were walking the Eastern Walkway and wandered down into Seatoun in search of food or at least coffee. We saw the little table outside on the footpath, a welcome sign for a weary walker. We ended up having prosciutto, hummus, the pizza of the day ( absolutely delicious), Greek salad, flan and wine by the glass from Portugal and Patagonia. The staff were fantastic, the place is cosy, it was busy but not noisy. It looked like a few locals were in, lucky things. Everyone should have a local like this.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joeby2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

2nd time here in as many weeks. Delicious food and very nice wine list. This could easily become our new regular Friday night out.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank johnlX5371JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

An unexpected Gem. We popped in for coffee ended up having lunch on Good Friday....lovely atmosphere, good food and great music ...listening to an actual L.P. playing classical music, what more could we ask for☺

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Hils51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Franziska Seatoun also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing