We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff & service.”

Rye American Kitchen & Spirits
Ranked #33 of 409 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$27
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We had the 39$pp meat platter between us. One sausage, one chewy, gnarly beef rib, a few fatty pieces of brisket and a bit of pulled pork padded out with some chips and coleslaw. For 78$ this was pants on head crazy. If you're going to charge top dollar make it great food, or fill us up so we're too engorged to care. Our drinks were comped which we appreciated but still left disappointed.

Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josh f, Owner at Rye American Kitchen & Spirits, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hello Nick S,
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are a little confused as to how we missed the mark with your particular dish. This is very popular and to this point we we have never had any complaints over either the components and/or the price.
It consists of 250g Salt and peppercorn Beef Brisket, 220g Sticky Date and Onion Beef short Rib (both of these are the same size as the main size portions valued at $29 and $28 respectively) add on top that a Texas style pork sausage, 200g Pulled pork, a side of Chipotle Slaw and a side of curly fries. All of the ingredients are sourced from the highest quality local suppliers. The type of cut and the place of origin are stated on the menu. The dish is one of the more expensive items on the menu, this is due to the fact that it is a high quality Meat dish.

Your comments....."one chewy, gnarly beef rib, a few fatty pieces of brisket and bit of pulled pork", are somewhat inaccurate. The Short Rib was inspected and was as tender as it should be after a 13.5hr cooking time. The brisket portions were all re-weighed and are all the stated 250g size.

We are sorry that you didn't feel that you got value for money from our Meat Board, however we do stand by the price and quality of the dish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2017

We 'eat out' possibly 5 days a week we have our favourites but decided to do some online research. We chose Rye American Kitchen and were overwhelmed with the Service Food Decor and atmosphere! We will certainly be returning again....[My biggest disappointment has been reading some of the previous reviews] Sending our complements to all the staff for making our dinner out PERFECT!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Our group of seven was seated quickly. Restaurant was only 30% full. Quick service from a friendly waitress from Argentina. Drinks arrived rapidly. Decor was cute with a pig and cow and southern thyme. Unfortunately food was disappointing. Ordered the burt end brisket bites $14. When the order arrived I looked at the round balls on the plate with mustard sauce and I told the waitress that was not my order. I was expecting burt end beef mini sandwiches not breaded balls of shredded beef in sweet sauce inside. Strange ! The curly fries $8 were good. The rest of the group was disappointed as well. The desert was described as previously frozen and someone left the plastic wrap off and it was dry. Each person spent approximately $48 for dinner and drinks. I think the owner needs to take a trip to Joes bbq in Kansas to know real brisket.

Thank puravidamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

So disappointed with this restaurant. Had been looking forward to visiting with family after looking online. Firstly I have to compliment your wait staff. Such a friendly welcome. Unfortunately it's was down hill from there. I ordered the burger and noticed it was two patties so I figured I couldn't eat all that so two of us decided to share along with additional fries. Huge disappointment when it arrived. It was the smallest burger I have ever had in NZ. Absolute rip off for the money. The ribs were ordered by two in our group. Delicious but certainly small portions and not worth the price. Although we were given two $10 vouchers which was generous we will only return again to eat as we have those. We will return a restaurant not too far away from yours who offer good value and superior food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yvonne640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josh f, Owner at Rye American Kitchen & Spirits, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Hi Yvonne640,
Glad to hear that you enjoyed our front of house staff but it a shame you felt it was where it stopped.
We generally get great feedback on our portions sizes so its disappointing you felt this way.
We feel that our dishes are great value and putting more on the plate would create waste as it has done in the past.
Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

We have been here for lunch and more recently dinner over the last month and on both occasions were delighted with the food and atmosphere of the restaurant. The staff are friendly, provide helpful tips and overall great service. For our lunch I had the pork belly and partner had the ribs, both meals were delicious, flavours fantastic and we decided then we would be back! Four our dinner it was quite a different experience as we were with a group and our table was upstairs, so of course it was a lot noisier! Anyhow, the food was great I had an eye fillet and partner had rib eye, love the curly fries and the wedge of cos was quite a different, but good, way to have lettuce served! Yes we would come back, as food is excellent but I would rather sit downstairs.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josh f, Public Relations Manager at Rye American Kitchen & Spirits, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you for your reviews of your lunch, dinner & group dining experiences with us! We pride ourselves on great food & great service, so we are so pleased to hear that we ticked all the boxes with you. We look forward to seeing you again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rye American Kitchen & Spirits also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Rye American Kitchen & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing