We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite Restaurant”
Review of Momo Teppan-Yaki

Momo Teppan-Yaki
Ranked #13 of 449 Restaurants in Tauranga
Price range: US$9 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Teppan-Yaki is a style of Japanese cuisine which uses an iron griddle to cook food. It is a healthy way of eating as well as socialising with friends and family. The literal translation of Teppan-Yaki is ‘iron plate’ (Teppan) ‘grilled’ (Yaki). We are a small family business with over 30 years of experience and unlike other Teppan-Yaki Restaurants that provide a theatrical show with open fires; our main focus is on food and our moderate pricing reflects this. We have ample of lighting so you are able to see the quality and freshness of our produce. This way you can also better understand how your food is cooked and know what you are about to eat. Service is also important to us and we want to make you feel like you are in your ‘second’ dining room!
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

After two years away this was the first restaurant I had to visit.
And it's still fantastic !!!
A great selection of menu set's at good prices.
Friendly family run place.
A must visit restaurant.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank glenn1gc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

We weren’t sure whether we wanted tepanyaki when visiting a Tauranga recently, but when our host said he went there once a week, we thought we’d take a look. When we stopped to look at the specials board outside a stranger came up to us and said how amazing the restaurant was. There was only one family group inside (hmmm always go to busy restaurants)-it was still early- so we found ourselves lured by a patch of sunshine further down the road, where we sat and enjoyed a drink while we pondered. Let’s give it a try, we decided. Wow. Great decision. It was mesmerising, watching the chef at the shared table, and so relaxing. Everything was prepared freshly in front of us and it was all delicious. Six courses for $35. The locals who were already there, all said they go regularly. Fairly priced, fresh and delicious ingredients, comfortable and friendly. We can highly recommend.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank gnilloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

We chose this place for a family dinner celebration. 3 adults & 12yr & 11yr children.
From the first step into the restaurant we were welcome & shown to our table, which we were sharing with another couple.
We all chose off the set menu, which included options for the children.
I chose the King Set, 1 chose Momo Set & 3rd Chicken Set. Children had the childs Chicken Set.
All of the food was cooked infront of us by the chef, while the waitress took care of swapping our plates & advising us of each step of the process.
All the food was delicious, my steak the most tender & tasty ever tried.
All round the table we were all mesmerised by seeing the food cooked to perfection, tasting each exquisite mouthful.
Mains were followed by dessert - Tepan fried banana with icecream, or icecream on its own- my choice was Green Tea flavour, again delicious.
Next time in Tauranga this restaurant will be top of our list of places to eat!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank RaeNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

We happen to walk past and saw their lunch teppanyaki special and decided to try it for $16. The food was fresh and it was lovely to have the chef cook the food in front of us and explain what was being cooked.
Enjoyed the experience and the food was delicious. We thought it was value for money.
Will consider coming back.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank moonlotus18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

The White family frequents this great little restaurant as often as we can. It's our "go to" for a family lunch or dinner. The food is great, prices surprisingly good and Tony is the consummate teppanyaki chef. Michelle would grace any restaurant as a maitre-de, she's a delight! Definitely go to Moms - it won't disappoint

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JamesW8340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Momo Teppan-Yaki also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Been to Momo Teppan-Yaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing