We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Rotorua excursion

We were met by Irene and we immediately warmed to her - she's lovely! She ensured we had a... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Ranson O
,
Seaham, United Kingdom
Day trip from cruise ship

And what an amazing tour. We generally book shore excursions from our cruise ship directly before... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
640NicolaH
,
Rayleigh
Read all 400 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tauranga
from US$54.70
More Info
from US$111.51
More Info
from US$111.51
More Info
from US$104.50
More Info
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
388
9
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
388
9
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews te puia kiwi fruit farm cruise ship new zealand front row seats small group private tour maori culture great tour avoid the crowds meeting house day trip geothermal activity no hesitation in recommending diamond princess mud pools lunch stop
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked at the I site at the port. Bruce helped my disabled husband in and out of the van with his walker, got a mobility scooter in Te Paia and made sure we saw all the sights and the Maori art school. Even visited the redwood forest in Rotorua and a kiwi farm. A great reasonably priced tour.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank shirleyb608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you shirleyb608
It was a pleasure to show you both our region and so pleased to see you both getting so much enjoyment from the day.
We really appreciate your post .
Warm regards
Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was an amazing day. We, as a family of 8 had no problem booking with Bruce, via email. We were arriving on the Radiance of the seas the following day. Our day was planned down to the micro-second, we saw so much and Bruce was extremely informative. Fantastic tour

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank chrispF7454PV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you chrispF7454PV
It was a pleasure to show you and your family our region.
We had a great day and I am sure you all went home with some wonderful memories of the sights in our region.
regards
Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Found this tour after an online search and booked it based on great Tripadvisor reviews, the small group sizes and a quite reasonable price (compared to the cruise ship offering). The online booking process was easy and convenient. Bruce met us at the pier and there were only 4 of us on this particular trip. The minivan was comfortable and we could spread out. Bruce has a long history in the tourism industry and is a wealth of information. He has a very easy going manner and kept the tour moving alone from a time point of view. We drove directly to Rotorua and went to the Te Puia geothermal park. He is well known here and knew exactly where to suggest to stand for the cultural performance, showed us through the student training facility for Maori arts, toured us around the geothermal park, all the while keeping an eye on the possible timing of the geyser going off and having us in a good viewing position. The geyser this day was slow to recharge so we went to the cafe for lunch and sat on the verandah ready to watch the geyser. We had a light lunch and it was reasonably priced. We had to wait a while for the geyser to go off and Bruce was worrying that we were going to have to miss it as we were on a time restriction. Just as we said that we had to start moving the geyser went off. The view from the cafe verandah was actually a very good location for photos and you don't cop any spray from the geyser as a benefit. We then toured around the public park with many geothermal outlets (if you are staying in Rotorua, do spend some time walking around this interesting park), a short tour around the streets of Rotorua showing us houses which had their own geothermal outlets on the property, then to the Redwood forrest, then a Kiwifruit farm on the way home where we learned about the production of Kiwi fruit and had a lovely icecream. We got back to the cruise ship on time without any stress. A great day out

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank AussieTravelholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you AussieTravelholic for taking time to write such a comprehensive review.
We had a great day and the wait for the geyser that day was so worth while.
You will have some great photos.
it was a pleasure to show you our region and I really enjoyed the day with you all.
We covered so many sights and experiences.
Thank you again for your thoughtful review
Warm regards
Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Made a booking for 3 which was easy , Bruce met us at the cruise boat terminal and we were then joined by 6 other tourists and off we headed . Bruce introduced himself and being a long term local who had been in the tour business it was not long before we knew that we were in for a great guided tour . As we passed through Tauranga learned so much about the town and on heading to Rotorua learned much about the trees and the kiwi fruit industry . On arrival at the Rotorua thermal park we were warmly greeted by the staff who treated Bruce like royalty. The park with the Haka dancers and singers , the spewing guysers and mud pools were something to experience, a drive around Rotorua and the parklands we say more of the geothermal activity. Before heading back to taraunga we visited the red tall woods park where Harry and Megan stood beneath a huge redwood tree and Bruce took our pics for us as we stood there too. Continuing back we stopped and visited the kiwi fruit farm where we shared an ice cream and sampled some new gold kiwi fruit while all the time Bruce gave us a full on talk fest. After a 6 hr plus we arrived back at the cruise boat realising we had just had the best tour ever, Thankyou heaps Bruce

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Carolmaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Carolmaurie
it was a pleasure to share our region with the three of you.
So pleased you enjoyed the day with us.
Sounds like you have some great photos add memories..
We really appreciate you taking time to write a post on trip advisor.
Warm regards
Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2019

I booked this tour for my parents after to doing a lot of research. The booking process was simple and the communication instant. My parents were picked up by Bruce a the port of Tauranga and there were only 8 on the tour. Bruce ensured they were comfortable and was very knowledgeable about his Country and the local area that he is very proud to show to visitors. Mum and Dad loved everything about the tour and especially the attention to details that Bruce ensured they had the best seats at the Maori dance, kiwi fruit farm where they tried the local fruits, geothermal geyser and wood carvings. Mum and Dad raved about everything they did on this tour and how great Bruce was. He treated them like royalty and they loved his passion for the area. Thanks Bruce from my family to you for making my Mum and Dad's trip so special and memorable. It is always hard booking something for the elderly but I certainly nailed a winner in picking you.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank sunshinecoastgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2019

Thank you sunshinecoastgirl for your post
It was a pleasure to show your Mum and Dad our region
They had some loverly memories from a visit some years ago and we were able to see some of those sights again on our tour.
They were such a lovely couple and shared some great stories with our group.
We all enjoyed their company
Please pass on my warmest regards to them
Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews