We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Rotorua excursion

We were met by Irene and we immediately warmed to her - she's lovely! She ensured we had a... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Ranson O
,
Seaham, United Kingdom
Day trip from cruise ship

And what an amazing tour. We generally book shore excursions from our cruise ship directly before... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
640NicolaH
,
Rayleigh
Read all 400 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tauranga
from US$54.70
More Info
from US$111.51
More Info
from US$111.51
More Info
from US$104.50
More Info
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
388
9
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
388
9
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews te puia kiwi fruit farm cruise ship new zealand front row seats small group private tour maori culture great tour avoid the crowds meeting house day trip geothermal activity no hesitation in recommending diamond princess mud pools lunch stop
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2019

I booked this tour for my parents after to doing a lot of research. The booking process was simple and the communication instant. My parents were picked up by Bruce a the port of Tauranga and there were only 8 on the tour. Bruce ensured they were comfortable and was very knowledgeable about his Country and the local area that he is very proud to show to visitors. Mum and Dad loved everything about the tour and especially the attention to details that Bruce ensured they had the best seats at the Maori dance, kiwi fruit farm where they tried the local fruits, geothermal geyser and wood carvings. Mum and Dad raved about everything they did on this tour and how great Bruce was. He treated them like royalty and they loved his passion for the area. Thanks Bruce from my family to you for making my Mum and Dad's trip so special and memorable. It is always hard booking something for the elderly but I certainly nailed a winner in picking you.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank sunshinecoastgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2019

Thank you sunshinecoastgirl for your post
It was a pleasure to show your Mum and Dad our region
They had some loverly memories from a visit some years ago and we were able to see some of those sights again on our tour.
They were such a lovely couple and shared some great stories with our group.
We all enjoyed their company
Please pass on my warmest regards to them
Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2019

Irene took us all around Tauranga. We saw Maoris dance the Haka dance! She took us to many geothermal sites that were so interesting. She was very informative and knowledgeable. There were 4 of us and she was very accomodating.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank swinski1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2019

Thank you swinski1018
We appreciate your comments and taking time to post a review
Really enjoyed showing you our region
Warm regards
Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2019 via mobile

Bruce was fantastic. Took us to so many woderful places in and around Tauranga and Rotorua. We went to hot sulpur springs, redwood forest. Te Puia Mouri cultural centre and workd famous geysers. Finally a visit to a kiwi fruit farm to sample yummy kiwi fruit and ice cream. Along the way we were given a history of region. Would highly recommend Bruce. Thank you again Bruce and Irene.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Kylie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2019

Thank you Kylie K
We had a great day with you and family
I thought your husband was a terrific chief of the visitors.
I bet you have some great memories of your day
Warm regards
Bruce and Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2019

Amazing Day tours
This was a must do a great days trip which covered so much of Rotorua.
The small group (9) leaving a little earlier than the bigger tours meant we were taken to the prime sites before the crowds got there. Bruce who knows the area so well knew exactly where and when to go.
He started by telling us the story of the New Zealand silver fern and taking us to the red wood forest to show us it then to the spot where Prince Harry and Meghan had their photo taken.
Then on to the big time Te Puia where the geyser and bubbling mud pools are. He could even tell when the geyser was going to erupt.
When we had all the photos we wanted we went to the Maori Arts and Crafts Institute, stopping briefly en route for him to tell us where to stand at the meeting house entrance later in the day to get the best view of the Maori welcome onto the tribal grounds.
Seeing the different craftsmen/women at work was fascinating and well worth the visit, especially when Bruce talks to the workers as a friend and shares their talents with us
Back to the meeting house where the public are invited to enter for the cultural show, the haka , and concert. This is a short and entertaining ceremony to make sure you are not an enemy!!
Time for lunch, plenty to choose from and all with a wonderful view of the geyser erupting again.
Leaving Te Puia we drove around the local area Bruce pointing out mud pools bubbling even in peoples back gardens!! Then on to a local kiwi farm where we tasted golden kiwis for the first time.
All in all a wonderful day at a reasonable cost with pleasant and knowledgeable company.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank maggsdT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2019

Thank you maggsdT for your comprehensive post.
We had such a great day with you both and it was a pleasure to show you our region.
We managed to see everything and enjoy the highlights .
It is so special when we can connect with the staff and their demonstrations, culture and customs.
I bet you have some great memories with your husband enjoying the role of chief of the visitors at the welcome onto the tribal grounds.
Didn't he did well.
Warm regards
Bruce and Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2019

Irene was great ,a magnificent guide who was very patient with our group of 6.Very knowledgeable and gave us a great tour of Tauranga and Rotorua. Highly recommend her.She and her husband, Bruce make a good team.We met him during our tour of the geysers while he was conducting another tour.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank cruiseNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2019

Thank you Vinod H
It was a pleasure to show you and your party our region.
We had a lovely day enjoying the sights with you all
We appreciate your post.
Warm regards
Irene and Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews