We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Rotorua day tour

Made a booking for 3 which was easy , Bruce met us at the cruise boat terminal and we were then... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Carolmaurie
via mobile
Great excursion with Irene.

Irene took us all around Tauranga. We saw Maoris dance the Haka dance! She took us to many... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
swinski1018
,
Charlotte, North Carolina
Read all 391 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tauranga
from US$104.65
More Info
from US$97.63
More Info
from US$21.07
More Info
from US$139.77
More Info
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
379
9
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
379
9
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews te puia kiwi fruit farm cruise ship new zealand front row seats small group private tour maori culture great tour avoid the crowds meeting house day trip no hesitation in recommending lunch stop diamond princess geothermal activity mud pools
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Irene took us all around Tauranga. We saw Maoris dance the Haka dance! She took us to many geothermal sites that were so interesting. She was very informative and knowledgeable. There were 4 of us and she was very accomodating.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank swinski1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you swinski1018
We appreciate your comments and taking time to post a review
Really enjoyed showing you our region
Warm regards
Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Bruce was fantastic. Took us to so many woderful places in and around Tauranga and Rotorua. We went to hot sulpur springs, redwood forest. Te Puia Mouri cultural centre and workd famous geysers. Finally a visit to a kiwi fruit farm to sample yummy kiwi fruit and ice cream. Along the way we were given a history of region. Would highly recommend Bruce. Thank you again Bruce and Irene.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Kylie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Kylie K
We had a great day with you and family
I thought your husband was a terrific chief of the visitors.
I bet you have some great memories of your day
Warm regards
Bruce and Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing Day tours
This was a must do a great days trip which covered so much of Rotorua.
The small group (9) leaving a little earlier than the bigger tours meant we were taken to the prime sites before the crowds got there. Bruce who knows the area so well knew exactly where and when to go.
He started by telling us the story of the New Zealand silver fern and taking us to the red wood forest to show us it then to the spot where Prince Harry and Meghan had their photo taken.
Then on to the big time Te Puia where the geyser and bubbling mud pools are. He could even tell when the geyser was going to erupt.
When we had all the photos we wanted we went to the Maori Arts and Crafts Institute, stopping briefly en route for him to tell us where to stand at the meeting house entrance later in the day to get the best view of the Maori welcome onto the tribal grounds.
Seeing the different craftsmen/women at work was fascinating and well worth the visit, especially when Bruce talks to the workers as a friend and shares their talents with us
Back to the meeting house where the public are invited to enter for the cultural show, the haka , and concert. This is a short and entertaining ceremony to make sure you are not an enemy!!
Time for lunch, plenty to choose from and all with a wonderful view of the geyser erupting again.
Leaving Te Puia we drove around the local area Bruce pointing out mud pools bubbling even in peoples back gardens!! Then on to a local kiwi farm where we tasted golden kiwis for the first time.
All in all a wonderful day at a reasonable cost with pleasant and knowledgeable company.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank maggsdT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you maggsdT for your comprehensive post.
We had such a great day with you both and it was a pleasure to show you our region.
We managed to see everything and enjoy the highlights .
It is so special when we can connect with the staff and their demonstrations, culture and customs.
I bet you have some great memories with your husband enjoying the role of chief of the visitors at the welcome onto the tribal grounds.
Didn't he did well.
Warm regards
Bruce and Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2019

Irene was great ,a magnificent guide who was very patient with our group of 6.Very knowledgeable and gave us a great tour of Tauranga and Rotorua. Highly recommend her.She and her husband, Bruce make a good team.We met him during our tour of the geysers while he was conducting another tour.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank cruiseNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Vinod H
It was a pleasure to show you and your party our region.
We had a lovely day enjoying the sights with you all
We appreciate your post.
Warm regards
Irene and Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2018

Wow what a great 6-hour tour of Rotorua and surrounds, especially the Te Puia Geyser!. Irene knew exactly the moment it was to "go off" and we were there to experience it. Not to mention the small intimate and comfortable 6-seater van pick up from the cruise ship terminal, seeing the redwood forest and finally a kiwi fruit farm in action. A very enjoyable day out in the lust NZ countryside with the very pleasant Irene. We loved it. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Zacchi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2018

Thank you Zacchi12 for your comments and post
it was a pleasure to share our region with you.
So pleased you loved the day .
Warm regards
Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews