We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
ROTORUA - SIMPLY THE BEST

Amazing Day tours This was a must do a great days trip which covered so much of Rotorua. The... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
maggsdT
,
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Vinod H

Irene was great ,a magnificent guide who was very patient with our group of 6.Very knowledgeable... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
cruiseNZ
Read all 387 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tauranga
from US$102.47
More Info
from US$20.63
More Info
from US$109.35
More Info
from US$109.35
More Info
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
375
9
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
375
9
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews te puia kiwi fruit farm cruise ship new zealand front row seats private tour small group maori culture great tour avoid the crowds day trip meeting house geothermal activity no hesitation in recommending lunch stop diamond princess pohutu geyser
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2018

Perfect tour for cruise passengers, my husband and I enjoyed the trip very much, thanks for our guide Irene, she was very knowlegable and very nice.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2018

Thank you Michelle K
It was a pleasure to show you our region.
You post is very much appreciated.
Warm regards
Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2018

My friends and I (a group of 10) joined Amazing Day Tours for our 1-day visit to Tauranga and Rotorua on Nov 23, 2018. We arrived with Celebrity Solstice and were picked up by Irene and Bruce promptly from the cruise gate, with 2 cars, giving us a very comfortable 8-hour journey of the day!

They managed to show us almost all they had to offer of their region and we enjoyed very much when being driven around and at the same time given a lot of information about their people and land. Both of them are very knowledgeable about the region and Bruce had his sense of humour to keep us awake during his some lengthy drives. Irene is a very warm and lovable little lady, but she heads Bruce subtly and they make a perfect team for their business. We were shown the geysers and mud pools and we were there always at the right time to see the geysers burst to the highest point and with the best position to take pictures. The Maori performance of haka dance was quite an experience for us and I never realized Maori could sing like Pavarotti!

They took us all over the places. We made a stop to see their redwood forest, with very fresh air and clean and tidy environment. We also visited a kiwi farm and we were able to enjoy the kiwi flavored ice cream. In Te Puia, they suggested we tried a “Hangi” lunch which is the Maori traditional way of cooking food in a pit under the ground in ovens called “Hangi”. The lunch was very reasonably priced and we got the chance to “taste” the Maori culture. It was another add-on to our trip.

Amazing Day Tours is a perfect tour operator for going around Tauranga and Rotorua and you get way more than what you pay for. I highly recommend this company and I thank Irene and Bruce very much for their wonderful tour!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Katy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2018

Thank you Katy K for your comprehensive review.
We both really enjoyed sharing the sights in our region with your group.
We certainly timed the geyser to perfection and your party will have some great photos.
It was a pleasure to meet your group.
Thank you once again for your thoughtful comments.
Warm regards
Bruce and Irene


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2018

We saw Bruce's van at the port of Tauranga. 4 couples went with him on a great day of touring. We saw far more things through him than the ship's excursions and the price was less than half of the ship's price. Definitely recommend his company.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2018

Thank you Malcolm
It was a pleasure to show you our region.
We often get comments that our prices are considerably less than the cruise ships tours and we get so much more into our day.
We also guarantee to get our tours back on time and have never missed a departure.
We enjoyed the day with you and thank you once again for your post which is very much appreciated.
Warm regards
Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2018

My wife and I booked this tour independently from the cruise company we travelled with.

Bruce our host for the day was waiting for us at the the port as predetermined. The day was great. Bruce is a great guide and proud of his home. He is also well known by the local tourist industry especially at Te Puia. he knew when the geysers were about to "blow" and his time management and experience ensured our group was the best positioned to view the Maori experience (haka etc)

Highly recommend Amazing day tours especially if you only have one day as part of a cruise.Better to be in a small group (9 is the max), does not cost as much as the tours on the cruise and Bruce really knows his stuff.

Thanks Bruce

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank IluvtravelWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2018

Thank you IluvtravelWollongong
it was a pleasure showing you both our region with our small group tour.
We give our time management considerable thought and after many years of experience have fine tuned our day on tour to get the most for our visitors.
We know when you have a limited time in the day on a cruise ship that time management can be crucial.
We agree with your comment our small group tour is less cost than the ship tours.
We had a lot of fun with you and the group that day and got to see some great sights.
Thank you once again and we may see you here again some day.
Warm regards
Bruce and Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2018

We booked a customized tour on Nov 13. My husband and I were making a cruise around New Zealand and I decided to book all the tours separately because we like small groups and did not want to be in the very large and crowded groups of the cruise.
We customized because there were a lot of different activities we wanted to do and make the most of our day.Obviously just for 2 it was a bit expensive but totally worth it.It was a great alternative to what the cruise ship excursions offered because we managed to do rafting ( checkout River Rats in Rotorua they are awesome and the best), then we went on to see the largest Geyser in the Southern Hemisphere, bubbling mud and other geothermal activity at Te Puia,as well as the Maori Carving and Weaving schools.Then we visited a kiwi fruit orchard and ended with driving around Tauranga to visit the centre.
Irene picked us up at the cruise terminal and off we were. Irene is fantastic! Kind, thoughtful and very very knowledgeable of the area and tourism in general.
An extra perk is that she knows the staff at Te Puia and thanks to her we were seated right in the front row of the Maori exhibition.
We really enjoyed our day and recommend Amazing Day Tours!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank VeroniqueV720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2018

Hi VeroniqueV720 Thank you for your lovely comments. So glad you enjoyed your day. The private tour is the only way you can fit so many activities into the one day. We have made a special point of getting to know the staff so we can get extra benefits for our clients. It was a pleasure to tour you both around our Amazing part of the world. Warm regards Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews