We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
ROTORUA - SIMPLY THE BEST

Amazing Day tours This was a must do a great days trip which covered so much of Rotorua. The... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
maggsdT
,
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Vinod H

Irene was great ,a magnificent guide who was very patient with our group of 6.Very knowledgeable... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
cruiseNZ
Read all 387 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tauranga
from US$102.47
More Info
from US$20.63
More Info
from US$109.35
More Info
from US$109.35
More Info
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
375
9
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
375
9
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews te puia kiwi fruit farm cruise ship new zealand front row seats private tour small group maori culture great tour avoid the crowds day trip meeting house geothermal activity no hesitation in recommending lunch stop diamond princess pohutu geyser
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2018

My wife and I booked this tour independently from the cruise company we travelled with.

Bruce our host for the day was waiting for us at the the port as predetermined. The day was great. Bruce is a great guide and proud of his home. He is also well known by the local tourist industry especially at Te Puia. he knew when the geysers were about to "blow" and his time management and experience ensured our group was the best positioned to view the Maori experience (haka etc)

Highly recommend Amazing day tours especially if you only have one day as part of a cruise.Better to be in a small group (9 is the max), does not cost as much as the tours on the cruise and Bruce really knows his stuff.

Thanks Bruce

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank IluvtravelWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2018

Thank you IluvtravelWollongong
it was a pleasure showing you both our region with our small group tour.
We give our time management considerable thought and after many years of experience have fine tuned our day on tour to get the most for our visitors.
We know when you have a limited time in the day on a cruise ship that time management can be crucial.
We agree with your comment our small group tour is less cost than the ship tours.
We had a lot of fun with you and the group that day and got to see some great sights.
Thank you once again and we may see you here again some day.
Warm regards
Bruce and Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2018

We booked a customized tour on Nov 13. My husband and I were making a cruise around New Zealand and I decided to book all the tours separately because we like small groups and did not want to be in the very large and crowded groups of the cruise.
We customized because there were a lot of different activities we wanted to do and make the most of our day.Obviously just for 2 it was a bit expensive but totally worth it.It was a great alternative to what the cruise ship excursions offered because we managed to do rafting ( checkout River Rats in Rotorua they are awesome and the best), then we went on to see the largest Geyser in the Southern Hemisphere, bubbling mud and other geothermal activity at Te Puia,as well as the Maori Carving and Weaving schools.Then we visited a kiwi fruit orchard and ended with driving around Tauranga to visit the centre.
Irene picked us up at the cruise terminal and off we were. Irene is fantastic! Kind, thoughtful and very very knowledgeable of the area and tourism in general.
An extra perk is that she knows the staff at Te Puia and thanks to her we were seated right in the front row of the Maori exhibition.
We really enjoyed our day and recommend Amazing Day Tours!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank VeroniqueV720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2018

Hi VeroniqueV720 Thank you for your lovely comments. So glad you enjoyed your day. The private tour is the only way you can fit so many activities into the one day. We have made a special point of getting to know the staff so we can get extra benefits for our clients. It was a pleasure to tour you both around our Amazing part of the world. Warm regards Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2018

We started our tour with Bruce from Amazing Day Tours, which the four of us can highly recommend. Bruce picked us up at the travel agency near the Sea Princess and we began a spectacular tour of Tauranga and Rotorua (a place I can now cross off my bucket list) and it didn't disappoint. I loved the whole experience of seeing such an unusual place with geysers, mud pools, seeing the biggest geyser at just the right time. We then saw the Maori performance and cultural centre. We were taken to Redwood Forest and a kiwi fruit farm which was very enlightening. Thanks Bruce we have great memories of this place. Janice Canberra

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Travel00217211781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2018

Thank you Travel00217211781 for your post.
We are so pleased you loved the day with us on tour.
It was our pleasure to show you and your friends our wonderful region.
I bet you have some great photos to support your great memories.
Thank you for your kind words
Warm regards
Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2018 via mobile

Bruce provided one of the best tours I have had the pleasure of taking. Remember, there is some distance between stops.BUT Bruce is a master of time management. He guided our group over and around other groups and not once did we feel rush. He also is a wealth of information and proud of his country. I have no hesitation in suggesting this tour.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Qo120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Thank you Qo120
You are so right timing pays an important part of navigating our day on tour to get the best options for our tour members.
We take great pride getting the best out of the day and sharing the stories and sights of the region with our tour party.
It was a pleasure to enjoy your company on tour.
Your post and kind words are really appreciated
Warm regards
Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2018

We had a great day with Bruce in Tauranga. The arrangements meeting us from our cruise ship worked very well and we saw some great sights and benefited from Bruce's enormous knowledge of the area, its's history and geography.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank abro2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene_ReTauranga, Owner at Amazing Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Thank you abro2014 for your post
I recall we had a great day seeing the sights of the region.
It as a pleasure to share our terrific sights and stories with you.
Warm regards
Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews