We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
69
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts lovely view karla john lavender bnb privacy luxury
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2016

This is an experience you do not want to miss. From the moment you step over the threshold to your departure you will feel like royalty and family at the same time. Karla & John are splendid hosts, this B & B is full of class and yet homely down to the very last detail, homemade treats, chocolates, bottled water, juice, port in the guests lounge,a glass of wine on arrival with canapés, even pineapple lumps for us old Kiwi expats, not to mention a view to die for. Do yourself a favour and arrange to dine in at least for 1 night, you will not be sorry! Karla and John have got this down to a fine art.

Room tip: All rooms were excellent with same views
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cherie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaE10, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Cherie you are to kind, thanks so much for the wonderful review. It has always been really important to us that guest feel special but can really relax when they stay at the Lodge. The pineapple lumps are a kiwi tradition that is a must try around here. It was great to see Larry enjoy the farm as much as John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016

John & Karla are outstanding hosts, who will go out of there way to make you feel at home. This is too good to be classed as a B & B, My husband & I stayed here over xmas for a weekend away, & although we live in Tauranga you really feel like you have arrived in a boutique hotel some where entirely different. The rooms are gorgeous with all amenities are provided. The views are breathtaking, so quiet & peaceful, I would recommend this establishment to anyone, wholeheartedly. Thank you for having us share your slice of heaven, we will be back.

Room tip: You get to choose your room on there web site, so personal, all face the view & sunny.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chantellemarieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so pleased you had such a good time and love our slice of heaven as much as we do.

It is wonderful how many locals are finding their way up to the Lodge to celebrate that special occasion or just to have a wee break from the pressures of everyday life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

My wife commented " not so much a B&B more an experience" and by that she meant a wonderful experience. The amenities there are superb, hot tub, although we did not use it it was available to us. Views are stunning whether you are sitting in the Guests lounge, your room or in the Garden. We chose to eat in on the first night by preordering dinner when I booked as we were not sure of amenities around the location, after experiencing a FIRST CLASS meal we chose to "eat in" every night when we were not meeting up with friends. Nothing seems to much trouble for the Hosts, friendly and obliging. Would we stay again, most definitely. The property is licensed so able to purchase alcoholic beverages with dinner or during the evening.A complimentary drink with some nibbles greeted our arrival and again on evenings about 6 pm. The food is all cooked by mine Hosts and to an exceedingly high standard, service and presentation is as good as in any five star hotel, first class

Room tip: Which ever suite you should choose you have views to die for, tranquility and peace.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank birtsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

It is always so special for us to hear such amazing complements from guests such as yourself’s who have travelled so far to get to New Zealand. We find so many of our guests arrive and just want to relax and be spoiled.
We are so please you both had such a great time and really look forward to seeing you again in the future. Enjoy the recipes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

Beautiful house, amazing view and spectacular hospitality! We had dinner there one night and it was absolutely delicious. We were well taken care of with soft, warm beds and snacks ready and available whenever we wanted. We arrived after a long day of travel and our mouths dropped in awe and wonder; this was everything we were hoping for and even more

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Connsima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

It was so great that you were all able to stay here on your world wind trip. Being able to relax each evening after busy days out sight seeing and enjoying our wonderful beaches is such a bonus. It was very special to be apart of such a special family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015

John and Karla were great hosts, very friendly and the food was amazing. Rooms were well appointed and the views were amazing. Highlight was a wine in the spa bath while looking out over the hills and sea. Thanks so much for the amazing experience I'll definitely be back

Room tip: Every room is really well appointed and all have amazing morning views
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brett_ormsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Always a pleasure to have you stay with us Brett. It was really great that you were able to enjoy such wonderful weather during your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews