We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
69
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts lovely view karla john lavender bnb privacy luxury
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2014

From the moment we buzzed at the gate the feeling of being completely spoilt and in absolute luxury began. Tauranga Lodge is the complete package not one detail of your every want is overlooked. Karla and John meet us at the door and we were shown into the beautiful lounge for guests to use. With the table fabulously set for our dinner for two and the fire and candles further enhancing the ambiance we would have been happy to have just snuggled in there!
But there was so much more, the bedroom was just lovely and what a comfy bed and oh did I mention the view from every room! What a view of the Mount and the surrounding city and my goodness that view was even better sitting in the spa with a glass of red wine.
I cannot speak highly enough of this place and then there's the food, for dinner John cooked salmon which would be some of the best we have had! When it came to breakfast, the only complaint is choosing what to have and been able to fit it all in! Karla's cream cheese, salmon and caper omelette was the best I have ever eaten.
We were lucky to have the whole place to ourselves over the 2 nights, we had all the privacy we wanted but also got to enjoy Karla and John's wonderful company
We will absolutely be back!

Room tip: We stayed in the Pukeko suite but all rooms have the same stunning view
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank donna_edney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

We are so thrilled you enjoyed your time with us, having the lodge to your self was a great idea. Our guests tell us that having a private guest lounge is such a bonus especially when having a romantic dinner for two. Our menu has a great range of choices with something for everyone. Johns salmon dinner is a favourite and the Salmon omelettes and French toast for breakfast also seem to rock out the door.
Look forward to having you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We booked Tauranga Lodge through a Grabone deal and it was one of the best purchases I've made! We stayed two nights in the Pukeko suite and were the only guests for the weekend, which made us feel very spoilt. The room was perfect with everything you need , snuggly robes, a lovely bathroom, huge comfy bed and walk in wardrobe. The guest lounge is gorgeous, we enjoyed movies in front of the fire place, after a relaxing spa under the stars! Karla makes the most amazing breakfasts and cooked us a beautiful three course dinner one evening. We had loads of privacy and just the right amount of attention with offers of drinks, home baking and tasty platters. We didn't want to leave and can't wait to escape the city for another weekend away. Thanks so much Karla and John!

Date of stay: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Totally our pleasure Julia, it was so wonderful to see you both so relaxed. Our guests tell us how comfortable the beds are and how much they enjoy slipping on the SNUGGLY robes and slippers. Our three course dinners are very popular as is the hot cooked breakfasts. So that all our guests have to do is relax and enjoy. See you both again soon. We will have the spa ready and the wine chilled.(:

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

From the time we arrived till when we left, our every need was taken care of.

Canapes and drinks by the fire was a great way to settle into the relaxed atmosphere and great company with Karla and John. Memories of our awesome weekend :- The food was Top Class, The changing table settings, the finest décor, in the spa enjoying the view of the Mount and surroundings, Luxury rooms, dressing gown and slippers, home baking, snacks and nothing to do. Everything was done for us, plus we were given plenty of privacy.
Thanks for letting us enjoy your beautiful home and your great company. We will be back.

Cheers and Cheezels

Colin and Robyn Cameron

Room tip: Any room is suitable. All rooms have the great view .
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Colin and Robyn what can I say. It was our pleasure to help you both enjoy your well deserved break. The lodge is a great place to recuperate after an illness or accident. All you have to do is sit back relax and let us look after you.
Cheers and Cheezels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Karla and John made our brief stay a joy. The guest facilities were top-class and our hosts were very welcoming. They anticipated our every need and catered for them. We wish we could have stayed longer. If you are looking for a rural retreat with stunning views, but not too far from town and want to be pampered, Tauranga Lodge is definitely the place to go.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wellygoggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

We are so please that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to make you feel relaxed. We are very fortunate that the lodge is situated in a rural environment, but close enough to see the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed with Karla and John as we had a wedding near by and took advantage to have a child free weekend. Their home is in a stunning location with wonderful views and all facilities are to a very high standard. Instantly you are made to feel very welcome and comfortable and found it very easy to unwind and to enjoy our surroundings. So lovely to be looked after so well and all the wonderful platters Karla made for us were beautifully presented and delicious. Our breakfast were set up lovely and we were lucky to have one morning out on the patio. I highly recommend a stay with Karla and John they are wonderful hosts

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ororuborus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

We are just down the road from The Bella Vista wedding venue so Tauranga Lodge is the ideal place to stay. Guests who are going to a wedding or function up at Bella Vista make a weekend of it and enjoy a well earned break.
It was super to see you both so relaxed enjoying a glass of bubbles and some nibbles before you headed of to the wedding.
Sometimes a weekend away is all that is needed to recharge the batteries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews