We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
69
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts lovely view karla john lavender bnb privacy luxury
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Karla and John made our brief stay a joy. The guest facilities were top-class and our hosts were very welcoming. They anticipated our every need and catered for them. We wish we could have stayed longer. If you are looking for a rural retreat with stunning views, but not too far from town and want to be pampered, Tauranga Lodge is definitely the place to go.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wellygoggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

We are so please that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to make you feel relaxed. We are very fortunate that the lodge is situated in a rural environment, but close enough to see the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed with Karla and John as we had a wedding near by and took advantage to have a child free weekend. Their home is in a stunning location with wonderful views and all facilities are to a very high standard. Instantly you are made to feel very welcome and comfortable and found it very easy to unwind and to enjoy our surroundings. So lovely to be looked after so well and all the wonderful platters Karla made for us were beautifully presented and delicious. Our breakfast were set up lovely and we were lucky to have one morning out on the patio. I highly recommend a stay with Karla and John they are wonderful hosts

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ororuborus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

We are just down the road from The Bella Vista wedding venue so Tauranga Lodge is the ideal place to stay. Guests who are going to a wedding or function up at Bella Vista make a weekend of it and enjoy a well earned break.
It was super to see you both so relaxed enjoying a glass of bubbles and some nibbles before you headed of to the wedding.
Sometimes a weekend away is all that is needed to recharge the batteries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

WOW!!! Believe all the reviews and more :-)
We decided to stay with Karla and John for our 45th wedding anniversary and couldn't have made a better choice. Right from when we arrived, we were made to feel so welcome, not only by Karla and John, but by the personal touches, such as the tea & scones and personally addressed compendium.
The Pukeko room was immaculate and the bed was so comfortable that we wanted to take it home. The meals and breakfasts were outstanding both days and Karla and John were great company as well. We were also most impressed with the table settings, which changed every meal. The lodge and everything in it is stunning, with views to die for, especially at night. All of the rooms had views of Mount Maunganui and would be perfect for outside dining in the summer.
Karla and John made our anniversary absolutely memorable and we have recommended them to everyone that we have met since. We can't wait to come back; thank you both so much for having us as your guests.
Chris & Claire

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJV1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

It was such fun to help you and Claire celebrate such a momentous occasion in your married life together. To see you both enjoy such a significant occasion and know you have taking that memory away with you makes the job we do very easy. Thank you both again for the kind words and all the wonderful referrals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Do yourself a favor and make Tauranga Lodge a part of your NZ holiday plans. Words really can't do justice to both the thought put into this luxury accommodation, or the graciousness it's hosts. John and Karla made us instantly feel spoiled beyond compare, despite our late-night arrival, and they have literally thought of everything to make this one of the most unique and inviting stays on the North Island. The expansive views and remarkable food and wine were enough to ensure we will be back. By the end of our one day trip, John and Karla both felt like family, and the house is laid out in a way that encourages exploration of it's fascinating artifacts and artwork, but gives a specific sense of privacy as well. When we return to the North Island, this will be our home base without question.

Room tip: There isn't a bad room in the house...our only regret was not having more time to spend at this stop!
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

We are always blown away by reviews such as yours. It confirms to us the reason we strive to try and make our guests have a great time when they stay at the Tauranga Lodge.
It was such a pleasure to have you both stay with us and we did enjoy hearing all the wonderful adventures you have had while in NZ.
John and I look forward to having you back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a night and would have loved to have stay longer. The place was wonderful - gorgeously fitted out, stunning view and everything we could possibly need and more... Karla & John are lovely hosts, always making sure we had a perfect stay.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Al and Fin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Guy’s it was great to introduce you both to the Bay and it was such a shame you couldn’t say longer. John and I are really thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews