We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
72
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts new zealand walk in wardrobe mount maunganui our honeymoon continental breakfast guest rooms lovely view stay there again karla john lavender pukeko bnb privacy suite bay
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

WOW!!! Believe all the reviews and more :-)
We decided to stay with Karla and John for our 45th wedding anniversary and couldn't have made a better choice. Right from when we arrived, we were made to feel so welcome, not only by Karla and John, but by the personal touches, such as the tea & scones and personally addressed compendium.
The Pukeko room was immaculate and the bed was so comfortable that we wanted to take it home. The meals and breakfasts were outstanding both days and Karla and John were great company as well. We were also most impressed with the table settings, which changed every meal. The lodge and everything in it is stunning, with views to die for, especially at night. All of the rooms had views of Mount Maunganui and would be perfect for outside dining in the summer.
Karla and John made our anniversary absolutely memorable and we have recommended them to everyone that we have met since. We can't wait to come back; thank you both so much for having us as your guests.
Chris & Claire

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJV1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

It was such fun to help you and Claire celebrate such a momentous occasion in your married life together. To see you both enjoy such a significant occasion and know you have taking that memory away with you makes the job we do very easy. Thank you both again for the kind words and all the wonderful referrals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Do yourself a favor and make Tauranga Lodge a part of your NZ holiday plans. Words really can't do justice to both the thought put into this luxury accommodation, or the graciousness it's hosts. John and Karla made us instantly feel spoiled beyond compare, despite our late-night arrival, and they have literally thought of everything to make this one of the most unique and inviting stays on the North Island. The expansive views and remarkable food and wine were enough to ensure we will be back. By the end of our one day trip, John and Karla both felt like family, and the house is laid out in a way that encourages exploration of it's fascinating artifacts and artwork, but gives a specific sense of privacy as well. When we return to the North Island, this will be our home base without question.

Room tip: There isn't a bad room in the house...our only regret was not having more time to spend at this stop!
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

We are always blown away by reviews such as yours. It confirms to us the reason we strive to try and make our guests have a great time when they stay at the Tauranga Lodge.
It was such a pleasure to have you both stay with us and we did enjoy hearing all the wonderful adventures you have had while in NZ.
John and I look forward to having you back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a night and would have loved to have stay longer. The place was wonderful - gorgeously fitted out, stunning view and everything we could possibly need and more... Karla & John are lovely hosts, always making sure we had a perfect stay.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Al and Fin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Guy’s it was great to introduce you both to the Bay and it was such a shame you couldn’t say longer. John and I are really thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This lodge was certainly further out of town than we had planned but not was well worth it. The views back towards Tauranga and The Mount are fab at night. The hosts here are the perfect mix of attentive but not in your space. Finally the rooms are beautiful, well appointed, clean and luxurious. Also breakfast is perfect!

Room tip: They are as nice as each other.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaFaye74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us Angela. It was lovely to be apart of your return to New Zealand and the planning of your new adventure.
Have to agree the views out over Tauranga and the Mount are pretty spectacular. Just far enough away from the city to appreciate the country life style.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Karla and John's B&B and we would highly recommend Tauranga Lodge to anyone who is looking for a friendly, beautiful B&B - We were looked after so well and thoroughly enjoyed the view, hospitality and everything! Karla and John think of all the details and extras that definitely didnt go unnoticed - We had decided to have dinner there the second night that we stayed and they set up croquet on the lawn for us - even with a pre-dinner drink and nibblies placed right there for us. The lavender right outside the window, night light view and daytime views outstanding. Homemade baking placed there for us, fruit and lots of other finishing touches. Great conversation and felt completely relaxed after our visit. I loved the music Karla had playing and she even wrote the name of the CD down for me. Definitely go there if you are looking for a top quality B&B in the Tauranga area.

Date of stay: February 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Moana-Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thanks so much for your lovely review, we try to make each guests stay unique and different. John and I always feel so lucky to meet up with such lovely people at the Lodge. It feels like you travel all around the world with out leaving the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews