We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
69
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts lovely view karla john lavender bnb privacy luxury
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon - it turned out to be 2 of the best nights we had all trip. Everything from beautifully appointed rooms, a simply amazing view, farm animals and wonderful food. Most importantly however, Karla and John were the perfect hosts - the type of genuine service that is all too rare. Helpful holiday tips, a friendly drink on the terrace to serving us a home cooked meal one night which was simply beautiful!
This is a must stay - we will definitely be back!

Date of stay: February 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank indy2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

John and I are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. A honeymoon as well as Valentines Day ……….. It doesn’t get more romantic than that!

Look forward to seeing you both sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We decided to stay in tauranga on our way to auckland airport for my parents'last night in nz. I called Karla and John and explained our situation. Karla assured they would make it a special experience. They excessed all expectations. They emailed us great directions. They welcomed us on their beautiful terrace with wine and beer and some delicious nibbles (cheese and dips). They invited us to unwind from the drive and relax while enjoying an amazing view of the mount looking over beautiful farm lands. In the meantime, they prepared a delicious diner. They use food they produce themselves. The rooms are beautifully decorated. Great for a romantic get away. Karla and John are wonderful hosts. They made us feel at ease right away and treated us like prince and princess. I couldn't recommend the Tauranga Lodge enough. My parents couldn't have left nz with a greater experience.

Date of stay: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Merci beaucoup, Kia ora, Thank you

I hope your mama and pop-pa got home safely and are coping with the cold back in France. It was so wonderful to have you all here and share such a special time with you. To know that you and your family enjoyed your stay so much is just wonderful.

Tell Marce that we will put his wonderful painting in a very special place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Had the perfect weekend at the Tauranga Lodge. John and Karla were the most amazing hosts, such lovely people that truly went out of their way to make our weekend magnificent. The view is spectacular with the lodge overlooking Tauranga and Mt Maunganui. The grounds were well manicured and the lodge was immaculately clean, fresh and comfortable. The food was scrumptious with ample quantities and the baking was a real treat! Would definitely stay here again and thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirbsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Hey guys,

Thanks so much for your kind words; we really enjoyed having you all here. It was great that you were able to come together from different parts of the country and use the lodge as your family base.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We have stayed at this property several times and every time it has more than exceeded our expectations. Huge beds with beautiful bathrooms and we never even heard the other guests. Fantastic view, and so relaxing to look at from the spa! It was a lovely way for us to spend our anniversary. The hosts John and Karla couldn't do enough to make us happy and the home baking and food was delightful. It's lovely to see a venue that cares about the environment and we were really pleased to see how they recycle nearly everything that comes into the property. We would thoroughly recommend this property to anyone, and we would gladly stay again! Very very happy customers, from Cam & Mel

Room tip: For a relaxing break out of the city this property was perfect.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

It’s so neat that you guys feel so relaxed when you come and stay. It is a special place to get away and really chill out after a very hectic week at work.

Look forward to having you back again soon. I will have the wine chilled and your favourite music playing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We spent 2 nights here with the sole purpose to do some cycle training in the surrounding area. The property is incredible and the perfect place to relax after a busy day either on the bike or at the shops. The hosts were outstanding and it was as if being welcomed into someones home.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jase_hussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla E, Owner at Tauranga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it was great to have you as our guests. The area the lodge is situated in is ideal for cycle training. The best thing of all is after a long training session you get to relax and enjoy good food and wine.

Good luck to you both, with your forthcoming races.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews