We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
10
17
11
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
10
17
11
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kitchen lounge basic room located close comfortable beds would stay again rsa hospital amenities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Just needed one nights accommodation so the room we had was OK just for sleeping - you wouldn't want to be spending any time during the day there though as the room was a basic concrete box - only one small window in which you could just see the top of the flagpole outside but nothing else, so not much natural light. Comfortable queen bed and 2 singles in the room, ensuite and good shower. No fridge in the room, but there is a community kitchen down the hall with a fridge for our bottle of wine. On the writing table is 4 cups, 1 jug, tea & coffee, little plastic containers of milk & 1 tea towel. Reasonable room rate of $125 for 3 people.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BarrellRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tgarsa, General Manager at Greerton Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Thank you for your review, the Greerton Motor Inn prices itself for the valued accommodation market hence the reason for not having all the bells and whistles. I am please that you found the rooms comfortable and adequate for your stay - Regards - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Asked for an early check in at midday, arrived at 2pm to find room had not been cleaned but helpful staff let us get ready for a wedding in the room, arrived back from the wedding at 10pm to find the room cleaned...but the door wide open and someones used chewing gum on the bedside table! Don't think we will be recommending to our friends :(

Date of stay: March 2016
Thank SRMgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tgarsa, General Manager at Greerton Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review, I will be following up on the points that you have identified, I hope that your stay was enjoyable other than the problems noted - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

We spent one night at this motor inn, which was very clean and tidy. Staff were friendly and very welcoming. We ate in the Bistro which proved to be reasonably priced, combined with an efficient service. Decent sized room although it did lack a fridge and a hairdryer.
Beware of parking your car in the car park provided. It is not very well lit, nor are there security cameras. Our car was broken into overnight by someone breaking a side window. We were fortunate enough that the idiot who did this left our car contents alone.
We were intending on spending two more nights in Tauranga but were forced to return home as the car was left with a broken window that could not be repaired immediately in Tauranga.
If that's the type of hospitality Tauranga offers its visitors we shall be reluctant to ever return.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank C0cktails42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tgarsa, General Manager at Greerton Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2015

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you were happy with the facilities at the Greerton Motor Inn, We are please to report that further lighting has now been installed around the car park , this was already in the planning unfortunately it did not occur before your incident.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015

The place was clean, but basic. No fridges in the rooms, they did have a little common room with a fridge, microwave and table and chairs. Most of the staff were friendly, for others...maybe not the right choice of employment for them. If staying more than 1 night I suggest you put away your cell charges etc. and lock them in your suitcase while you are out.

Date of stay: September 2015
Thank TheresaW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tgarsa, General Manager at Greerton Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2015

Thank you for your review, I would be interested in further information re your comments - please feel free to email me direct manager@tgarsa.co.nz - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Booked and paid in advance for 3 nights worse luck otherwise would have left after 1st night. No fridge, no hair dryer, one mirror, nowhere to store clothes except for the floor, a total of 4 coathangers.
Air conditioner only does heat, luckily we had a fan for one whole night until they took that off us as well. There is a heater also that was turned on when we arrived and has been for the last 3 days and even that does not work. Our only window in this room looks out to a roof drain so we can hear the water dripping all night. Worst place ever.

Room tip: Don,t choose a room here.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank elaineTweedHeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tgarsa, General Manager at Greerton Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Thank you for your review, we regret that you found your stay unsatisfactory. We apologies for the problem with the Air Conditioning, this has been installed recently and we still have intermittent problems and we were unaware of this problem until this review. We do not advertise fridges etc.... in the rooms hence why we are marketed as value accommodation. We are sorry you found the stay substandard to what you expected and hope that the rest of your trip is enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews