We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience McLaren Falls Park
from US$100.62
More Info
from US$113.19
More Info
from US$123.18
More Info
from US$332.92
More Info
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
288
130
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
288
130
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glow worms excellent cafe cafe on site small waterfall waterfall walk beautiful lake camping ground rock pools picnic lunch autumn bridge ranger rocks track lakeside arboretum swim
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2022 via mobile

Saw this park on a tourist site, we are Kiwis who had never heard of it. Short drive out of Tauranga came to the park with views of the falls with lots of people at different parts of the falls. Walked down.a few steps , went across large boulders, found a spot to dip feet and sat back enjoying the experience. Afterwards went for a drive, cafe had just closed, but the rest of the park drive highlighted numerous lovely sites for stopping/ picnics in the future.

Date of experience: January 2022
1  Thank Mechelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2021 via mobile

Such a beautiful walk! I went with my mum and siblings and they’re teens so they don’t like being out much, luckily this walk isn’t super long. This walk is very green and has lots of nature surroundings. There’s even glow worms so if you’re interested, plan your adventure closer to night otherwise it can be really hard to spot them!

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank JessLukey18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 June 2021 via mobile

What an awesome place. Loved walking to the water falls, through the meadow and along the lake. Just a beautiful place to go to. Loved it.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank Escape34861768484
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 June 2021

We'd never been here before and weren't sure what to expect. We wanted to go see the falls but when we got there there were lots of other things to see / do as well. We only had an hour or two as we had another arrangement in Tauranga later so did the waterfall track. Nice and easy walk to the lovely waterfall. Our 5 year old hopped across the rocks to the fall and then ended up in the water knee deep on the way back and squelched back to the car. (Luckily The Warehouse is only a few km's away to get another pair of shoes).

We didn't see any glow worms. We skipped the animal farm as well and as we were leaving a bus load of tourists came to explore the rocks by the main entrance.

Could definitely have had more time and seen more and walked more.

Date of experience: April 2021
1  Thank HypnoWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 April 2021 via mobile

The best place to go in Tauranga. The bridge and river with falls in summer, the lakeside for picnics, the Kennedy arboretum, the beautiful large trees in autumn leaf fall and colours, the waterfall walk, the camping ground are all fantastic for young and not-so-young

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank rob v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews