We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a rockin time out!”

Phil's Place Restaurant
Ranked #56 of 402 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Open 7 days a week from 11.30 Am and serving food all day. We are located right on the waters edge at the Tauranga Bridge Marina. Large menus to suit all ages and we do have children"s portions available. Friendly staff in a wonderful ambiance. Delicious food and affordable prices.No surcharge on public holidays. Closed Christmas Day , 26th and 27th December and Good Friday.
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Love this place so much. Great tunes are always playing in the background with amazing food served every time. The atmosphere is relaxing and the staff are always welcoming. My family and I always keep coming back as we know we will always have a great night out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bo Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2017

There is ample parking and the venue and menu are great. Service was personal and efficient. There is also a good wine list but beer selection was mainly bottles. bookings are optional but because it is popular one should.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

There is no better place to dine on the waterfront for fabulous views of the water and the iconic Mt Maunganui, however our last 3 visits to this beautiful restaurant have not been nearly as good as we have experienced in the past few years, we have found that the food seems to take longer on each visit and that the current front of house team seem bored and have little product knowledge on food and wine,on our last trip we found that our waitress seemed more interested in talking with the chef's and other female waitress in the bar than looking after us, which is a great shame as we have come to expect such high service standards here but this is the second time we have been left wanting more, also it would be nice to have cleaner glassware to drink out of, we really hope that Phil's place picks its standards back up and starts to put customer service ahead of it's staff social time. Our food was pleasant, though we felt that the fish was slightly overcooked and that the accompaniments served along side were just mis-matched. The food was still full of flavor and enjoyable but the prices seem to have climbed somewhat.
Good luck moving forward to this local business.
I am not normally keen to write online reviews but I as we were not asked how our meals were I felt that complaining to the staff would have been a pointless exercise.

Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Sorry to hear that your visit wasnt up to standard. Some of our staff we employed over summer have now moved on and I apologise for any slack service. Our prices havent increased in 2 years . As far as checking meals we dont come over and bother your table and assume you are enjoying everything unless are otherwise told. We do appreciate your comments and will take note of them.
Thanking you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

We called in here on a busy Friday night. Although we had to sit outside we were pleased to have done so - inside was very crowded and noisy. Also, the view over the harbour was great. Staff were attentive and helpful. Food was delivered reasonably promptly considering how busy they were. Two of us a fish dish, which was good. The other had the vegetarian lentil patties, which were pretty tasteless and rather stodgy. As others have commented, vegetarian choices are limited. Worth the visit for the view and good service. Food could do with a little improvement.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Great Place Phil on the water veiws, atmosphere,great imformitive Floor staff,but I got sucked in to ordering a meal which i didn't receive Shame!
Driving all day to see a friend and family for the evening we were delighted to be told that we were eating in a establishment owned by rock and roll royalty .
was told that the Fish of the day was one thing then told they had run out which was fine but to find the rest of the components to the meal, was restricted to immature products truely chef shame.my fault I paid.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

I spoke the chef and it was mussels that we had sold out of not the fish. Our apolgies for any inconvenience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phil's Place Restaurant also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Been to Phil's Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing