We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standards have slipped”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Phil's Place

Phil's Place
Ranked #51 of 377 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Soups, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open 7 days a week from 11.30 Am and serving food all day. We are located right on the waters edge at the Tauranga Bridge Marina. Large menus to suit all ages and we do have children"s portions available. Friendly staff in a wonderful ambiance. Delicious food and affordable prices.No surcharge on public holidays. Closed Christmas Day , 26th and 27th December.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
“Standards have slipped”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is no better place to dine on the waterfront for fabulous views of the water and the iconic Mt Maunganui, however our last 3 visits to this beautiful restaurant have not been nearly as good as we have experienced in the past few years, we have found that the food seems to take longer on each visit and that the current front of house team seem bored and have little product knowledge on food and wine,on our last trip we found that our waitress seemed more interested in talking with the chef's and other female waitress in the bar than looking after us, which is a great shame as we have come to expect such high service standards here but this is the second time we have been left wanting more, also it would be nice to have cleaner glassware to drink out of, we really hope that Phil's place picks its standards back up and starts to put customer service ahead of it's staff social time. Our food was pleasant, though we felt that the fish was slightly overcooked and that the accompaniments served along side were just mis-matched. The food was still full of flavor and enjoyable but the prices seem to have climbed somewhat.
Good luck moving forward to this local business.
I am not normally keen to write online reviews but I as we were not asked how our meals were I felt that complaining to the staff would have been a pointless exercise.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Sorry to hear that your visit wasnt up to standard. Some of our staff we employed over summer have now moved on and I apologise for any slack service. Our prices havent increased in 2 years . As far as checking meals we dont come over and bother your table and assume you are enjoying everything unless are otherwise told. We do appreciate your comments and will take note of them.
Thanking you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    59
    30
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great spot on the water”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called in here on a busy Friday night. Although we had to sit outside we were pleased to have done so - inside was very crowded and noisy. Also, the view over the harbour was great. Staff were attentive and helpful. Food was delivered reasonably promptly considering how busy they were. Two of us a fish dish, which was good. The other had the vegetarian lentil patties, which were pretty tasteless and rather stodgy. As others have commented, vegetarian choices are limited. Worth the visit for the view and good service. Food could do with a little improvement.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Watercress”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great Place Phil on the water veiws, atmosphere,great imformitive Floor staff,but I got sucked in to ordering a meal which i didn't receive Shame!
Driving all day to see a friend and family for the evening we were delighted to be told that we were eating in a establishment owned by rock and roll royalty .
was told that the Fish of the day was one thing then told they had run out which was fine but to find the rest of the components to the meal, was restricted to immature products truely chef shame.my fault I paid.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I spoke the chef and it was mussels that we had sold out of not the fish. Our apolgies for any inconvenience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
475 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Some friends joined us here - wonderful”
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Loved everything about this place - the food, the service and the atmosphere. Would never have picked it from the road, so was grateful some local friends recommended the 4 of us go there. It's now on our list for next year.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ranipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Great Staff & Food”
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Had dinner there with a couple of local friends during a business trip and I'll definitely be back on my next visit. The service staff were polite and enjoyed a laugh and the food was DEVINE! Definately recommend.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank issaiabrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phil's Place also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Phil's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing