We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot on the water”
Review of Phil's Place

Phil's Place
Ranked #49 of 382 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, View
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open 7 days a week from 11.30 Am and serving food all day. We are located right on the waters edge at the Tauranga Bridge Marina. Large menus to suit all ages and we do have children"s portions available. Friendly staff in a wonderful ambiance. Delicious food and affordable prices.No surcharge on public holidays. Closed Christmas Day , 26th and 27th December.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great spot on the water”
Reviewed 30 March 2017

We called in here on a busy Friday night. Although we had to sit outside we were pleased to have done so - inside was very crowded and noisy. Also, the view over the harbour was great. Staff were attentive and helpful. Food was delivered reasonably promptly considering how busy they were. Two of us a fish dish, which was good. The other had the vegetarian lentil patties, which were pretty tasteless and rather stodgy. As others have commented, vegetarian choices are limited. Worth the visit for the view and good service. Food could do with a little improvement.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    60
    31
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Watercress”
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Great Place Phil on the water veiws, atmosphere,great imformitive Floor staff,but I got sucked in to ordering a meal which i didn't receive Shame!
Driving all day to see a friend and family for the evening we were delighted to be told that we were eating in a establishment owned by rock and roll royalty .
was told that the Fish of the day was one thing then told they had run out which was fine but to find the rest of the components to the meal, was restricted to immature products truely chef shame.my fault I paid.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place, responded to this review, 30 March 2017
I spoke the chef and it was mussels that we had sold out of not the fish. Our apolgies for any inconvenience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
495 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Some friends joined us here - wonderful”
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Loved everything about this place - the food, the service and the atmosphere. Would never have picked it from the road, so was grateful some local friends recommended the 4 of us go there. It's now on our list for next year.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ranipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Great Staff & Food”
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Had dinner there with a couple of local friends during a business trip and I'll definitely be back on my next visit. The service staff were polite and enjoyed a laugh and the food was DEVINE! Definately recommend.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank issaiabrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Success, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great fresh made soup”
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We stopped in here for a small bite to eat after our Dolphin Seafari. We just had the soup and bruschetta. The soup was Thai pumpkin, GF and extremely tasty. The staff were pleasant and very helpful.
Has a few memorabiila from ACDC drummer who owns the restaurant.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phil's Place also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Phil's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing