We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some friends joined us here - wonderful”

Phil's Place Restaurant
Ranked #46 of 387 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Open 7 days a week from 11.30 Am and serving food all day. We are located right on the waters edge at the Tauranga Bridge Marina. Large menus to suit all ages and we do have children"s portions available. Friendly staff in a wonderful ambiance. Delicious food and affordable prices.No surcharge on public holidays. Closed Christmas Day , 26th and 27th December and Good Friday.
Launceston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
552 reviews
383 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Some friends joined us here - wonderful”
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Loved everything about this place - the food, the service and the atmosphere. Would never have picked it from the road, so was grateful some local friends recommended the 4 of us go there. It's now on our list for next year.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ranipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    62
    32
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Great Staff & Food”
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Had dinner there with a couple of local friends during a business trip and I'll definitely be back on my next visit. The service staff were polite and enjoyed a laugh and the food was DEVINE! Definately recommend.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank issaiabrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Success, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great fresh made soup”
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We stopped in here for a small bite to eat after our Dolphin Seafari. We just had the soup and bruschetta. The soup was Thai pumpkin, GF and extremely tasty. The staff were pleasant and very helpful.
Has a few memorabiila from ACDC drummer who owns the restaurant.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The chowder.....Wow”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Business lunch recently & comments about the food were positive. I had the chowder, & it's was the best chowder I've had for a long time. Nice & thick & full of top quality seafood. Service was friendly enough without being over the top, and the view is top notch. Will return, cheers

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank G00nerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swiss Alps, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Food good, Reception very unfriendly”
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Bonnie Zinsli at the reception was in a bad mood, she dind't say "Welcome" nor "Hello" to us, when we entered the Restaurant, just showed us the table without a word. Not a good start, and absolutely not the way to do it! That's why I give only an "Average" in my rating. Sophia Roussos served us with a smile, thanks.
The Mussels were wonderful cooked. The winelist could be better, we missed some top wines from New Zealand.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReisenEssenWein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoatPhilsPlace, Owner at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 February 2017
Dear Barbara
Thank you for you comments.
We apologise for any of our staff not welcoming you as usually everyone is great.
I will however look into this.
Many thanks
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phil's Place Restaurant also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Been to Phil's Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing