We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fresh made soup” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phil's Place

Phil's Place
Ranked #44 of 373 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Soups, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open 7 days a week from 11.30 Am and serving food all day. We are located right on the waters edge at the Tauranga Bridge Marina. Large menus to suit all ages and we do have children"s portions available. Friendly staff in a wonderful ambiance. Delicious food and affordable prices.No surcharge on public holidays. Closed Christmas Day , 26th and 27th December.
Success, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great fresh made soup”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped in here for a small bite to eat after our Dolphin Seafari. We just had the soup and bruschetta. The soup was Thai pumpkin, GF and extremely tasty. The staff were pleasant and very helpful.
Has a few memorabiila from ACDC drummer who owns the restaurant.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    56
    29
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The chowder.....Wow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Business lunch recently & comments about the food were positive. I had the chowder, & it's was the best chowder I've had for a long time. Nice & thick & full of top quality seafood. Service was friendly enough without being over the top, and the view is top notch. Will return, cheers

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank G00nerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swiss Alps, Switzerland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Food good, Reception very unfriendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2017

Bonnie Zinsli at the reception was in a bad mood, she dind't say "Welcome" nor "Hello" to us, when we entered the Restaurant, just showed us the table without a word. Not a good start, and absolutely not the way to do it! That's why I give only an "Average" in my rating. Sophia Roussos served us with a smile, thanks.
The Mussels were wonderful cooked. The winelist could be better, we missed some top wines from New Zealand.

  • Visited February 2017
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank XyBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoatPhilsPlace, Owner at Phil's Place, responded to this review, 17 February 2017
Dear Barbara
Thank you for you comments.
We apologise for any of our staff not welcoming you as usually everyone is great.
I will however look into this.
Many thanks
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“MIA - Missing In Action”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017

Sent an email to make a booking for Valentine's Day dinner and got no response. Thanks for the lack of customer service. Had an enjoyable dinner elsewhere. Maybe this correlates to Mr Rudd not being able to hold his spot in the band - missing in action when contacted.

  • Visited February 2017
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoatPhilsPlace, Public Relations Manager at Phil's Place, responded to this review, 17 February 2017
Hi there
We were fully booked days before Valentines Day and the reason your email wasn't answered was that we never received it.
I have also checked my spam folder and there is nothing there.
We always answer our emails.
Many thanks
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ho Hum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Had great expectation of Phil's Place but it was underwhelming. The wait staff seemed bored. The meals for the group were served well over an hour after we were seated. The actual meals ranged from mediocre to pretty good. Some were more impressive than others in presentation and taste. There were certainly no 'that was fantastic' comments.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phil's Place also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Phil's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing