We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good, Reception very unfriendly”

Phil's Place Restaurant
Ranked #49 of 387 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Open 7 days a week from 11.30 Am and serving food all day. We are located right on the waters edge at the Tauranga Bridge Marina. Large menus to suit all ages and we do have children"s portions available. Friendly staff in a wonderful ambiance. Delicious food and affordable prices.No surcharge on public holidays. Closed Christmas Day , 26th and 27th December and Good Friday.
Swiss Alps, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Food good, Reception very unfriendly”
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Bonnie Zinsli at the reception was in a bad mood, she dind't say "Welcome" nor "Hello" to us, when we entered the Restaurant, just showed us the table without a word. Not a good start, and absolutely not the way to do it! That's why I give only an "Average" in my rating. Sophia Roussos served us with a smile, thanks.
The Mussels were wonderful cooked. The winelist could be better, we missed some top wines from New Zealand.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReisenEssenWein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoatPhilsPlace, Owner at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 February 2017
Dear Barbara
Thank you for you comments.
We apologise for any of our staff not welcoming you as usually everyone is great.
I will however look into this.
Many thanks
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    62
    32
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“MIA - Missing In Action”
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Sent an email to make a booking for Valentine's Day dinner and got no response. Thanks for the lack of customer service. Had an enjoyable dinner elsewhere. Maybe this correlates to Mr Rudd not being able to hold his spot in the band - missing in action when contacted.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoatPhilsPlace, Public Relations Manager at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 February 2017
Hi there
We were fully booked days before Valentines Day and the reason your email wasn't answered was that we never received it.
I have also checked my spam folder and there is nothing there.
We always answer our emails.
Many thanks
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Ho Hum”
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Had great expectation of Phil's Place but it was underwhelming. The wait staff seemed bored. The meals for the group were served well over an hour after we were seated. The actual meals ranged from mediocre to pretty good. Some were more impressive than others in presentation and taste. There were certainly no 'that was fantastic' comments.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taumarunui, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Good lunch good service and a fabulous spot. What more could you ask for. Seafood chowder calamari and lamb tapa. We loved it! Kahurangi Rose to wash it all down with

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank PamBick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not so good for vegetarians”
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Have only a couple of options for vegetarians/vegans in the mains, and those are not that good. Coconut-lentil fritters were too dry while pasta was too cheesy. It was a disappointing experience.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
2 Thank ENVEBUZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phil's Place Restaurant also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Been to Phil's Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing