We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MIA - Missing In Action”

Phil's Place Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 407 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Open 7 days a week from 11.30 am and serving food all day. We are located right on the waters edge at the Tauranga Bridge Marina. Large menus to suit all ages and we do have children"s portions available. Friendly staff in a wonderful ambiance. Delicious food and affordable prices.No surcharge on public holidays. Closed Christmas Day , 26th and 27th December and Good Friday.
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Sent an email to make a booking for Valentine's Day dinner and got no response. Thanks for the lack of customer service. Had an enjoyable dinner elsewhere. Maybe this correlates to Mr Rudd not being able to hold his spot in the band - missing in action when contacted.

    • Service
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoatPhilsPlace, Public Relations Manager at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Hi there
We were fully booked days before Valentines Day and the reason your email wasn't answered was that we never received it.
I have also checked my spam folder and there is nothing there.
We always answer our emails.
Many thanks
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Had great expectation of Phil's Place but it was underwhelming. The wait staff seemed bored. The meals for the group were served well over an hour after we were seated. The actual meals ranged from mediocre to pretty good. Some were more impressive than others in presentation and taste. There were certainly no 'that was fantastic' comments.

Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Good lunch good service and a fabulous spot. What more could you ask for. Seafood chowder calamari and lamb tapa. We loved it! Kahurangi Rose to wash it all down with

Thank PamBick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Have only a couple of options for vegetarians/vegans in the mains, and those are not that good. Coconut-lentil fritters were too dry while pasta was too cheesy. It was a disappointing experience.

2  Thank ENVEBUZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

On my previous review some 2 years ago, I rated this lovely restaurant the best in New Zealand.
So I booked it for my wife birthday the 17January, for 18:00. We planned for an awesome evening because it was the 1st time in 20 years we had our children together for my wife's birthday. I had asked for a table with a view. It was a hot summers day, accompanied by a fairy strong wind.
We were seated right next to the windows, which were kindly standing wide open when we arrived. With the sun starting to prepare for setting, and it was shining directly into our eyes with a strong white glare, and the wind was blowing everything off the table. So we asked for the Windows to be closed. The glare was dimmed a bit, and the wind was contained. Not long, and we all started to begin overheating and claustrophobia started to rule.
We placed our orders and escaped outside to breathe. Our food arrived, so back in we go. It's is so hot in the restaurant, that all I wanted to do is get out. After a while, my wife noted an emergency exit door near to us that is shut. She asked for this door to be opened, and everything changed as a gentle cool breeze made its way through the restaurant. Unfortunately by now we rushed down our food to get out, and our plates were almost empty.
Well, it was one of those days you know the restaurant serves good food, but we did not care what is being served...we want out. Why this lovely restaurant does not invest in blinds or shades you can pull down to block the sun is so strange. And why no air conditioning? Small little detail like this will make a huge difference to a customers dining experience.

Thank WillemLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thank you for your comments. It was an extremely hot day and of course this terrible wind that has affected most of NZ meant we could only open certain windows and doors due to the winds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phil's Place Restaurant also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Phil's Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing