We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so good for vegetarians” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phil's Place

Phil's Place
Ranked #43 of 372 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Soups, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open 7 days a week from 11.30 Am and serving food all day. We are located right on the waters edge at the Tauranga Bridge Marina. Large menus to suit all ages and we do have children"s portions available. Friendly staff in a wonderful ambiance. Delicious food and affordable prices.No surcharge on public holidays. Closed Christmas Day , 26th and 27th December.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not so good for vegetarians”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Have only a couple of options for vegetarians/vegans in the mains, and those are not that good. Coconut-lentil fritters were too dry while pasta was too cheesy. It was a disappointing experience.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank ENVEBUZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    57
    29
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
237 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“A hot sunny afternoon is a bad time to visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

On my previous review some 2 years ago, I rated this lovely restaurant the best in New Zealand.
So I booked it for my wife birthday the 17January, for 18:00. We planned for an awesome evening because it was the 1st time in 20 years we had our children together for my wife's birthday. I had asked for a table with a view. It was a hot summers day, accompanied by a fairy strong wind.
We were seated right next to the windows, which were kindly standing wide open when we arrived. With the sun starting to prepare for setting, and it was shining directly into our eyes with a strong white glare, and the wind was blowing everything off the table. So we asked for the Windows to be closed. The glare was dimmed a bit, and the wind was contained. Not long, and we all started to begin overheating and claustrophobia started to rule.
We placed our orders and escaped outside to breathe. Our food arrived, so back in we go. It's is so hot in the restaurant, that all I wanted to do is get out. After a while, my wife noted an emergency exit door near to us that is shut. She asked for this door to be opened, and everything changed as a gentle cool breeze made its way through the restaurant. Unfortunately by now we rushed down our food to get out, and our plates were almost empty.
Well, it was one of those days you know the restaurant serves good food, but we did not care what is being served...we want out. Why this lovely restaurant does not invest in blinds or shades you can pull down to block the sun is so strange. And why no air conditioning? Small little detail like this will make a huge difference to a customers dining experience.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank WillemLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place, responded to this review, 30 January 2017
Thank you for your comments. It was an extremely hot day and of course this terrible wind that has affected most of NZ meant we could only open certain windows and doors due to the winds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A relaxing dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

A sun-soaked dining room that faces the evening sun during summer. The restaurant running right to the waters edge of the marina. A relaxing dining experience as the sun sets.

The staff are also friendly and engaging without being too formal.

The food is nice enough and much what you expect but isn't going to win any awards.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank krise582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017

Went here as a special treat. Lovely ambience right beside the marina. Good service. Meals of reasonable size and we'll cooked.

  • Visited December 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eliza836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We went some friends from Auckland who enjoy fine dining, we had not been here before but had only heard good things about the place. The experience started right from the beginning with our lovely but not over bearing waitress who was an absolute pleasure to deal with.
One of the group had mussels to start, luckily she shared them and we all got a taste, they were divine, she even said they were better than De Post which is very high praise. All the other starters were of equal quality and enjoyed by all.
The mussel starter was quite large so for her main she ordered the ribs but asked for salad instead of chips which was no problem at all.
I had the chargrilled lamb, cooked to perfection and very tasty, my husband had the pork belly that he was reluctant to even let me taste as it was so good however I did get a small morsel and knew why he wanted it all for himself, the last diner had the fish which he said was superb.
The whole atmosphere and all the staff gave the right right amount of service which was excellent and not over bearing. The wait between meals was also perfect, we do enjoy a break a they had it just right.
Very friendly great view, great food, loved the whole night.
Would go back in a heart beat.
Thank you for a wonderful and very enjoyable night that we will always remember.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoatPhilsPlace, Manager at Phil's Place, responded to this review, 8 January 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments we appreciate them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phil's Place also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Phil's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing