We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forgotten”
Review of Cobb & Co.

Cobb & Co.
Reserve with OpenTable
Cobb & Co. is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #144 of 449 Restaurants in Tauranga
Price range: US$10 - US$24
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome back to New Zealand's original Restaurant and Saloon! Visit Cobb & Co for a friendly environment and warm charm that is uniquely kiwi. Cobb & Co is the best place for families, offering a fantastic kids area packed with mountains of toys, PlayStations, and a large fish tank. We also have a special menu for our valued seniors. Cobb & Co prides itself on having the best steak around! Our beef is 100% Angus Pure, beginning in the beautiful green landscapes of New Zealand and finishing its journey on your plate, topped off with one of our homemade steak sauces! Here, at Cobb & Co, there is something for everyone, offering a huge menu range, including gluten-free and vegetarian options. Enjoy our wine list of high quality regional wines and renowned national brands, a classic pint of beer, or a colourful traffic light. Welcome home to Cobb!
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Absolutely appalling service, we were ignored when we walked in even though there was only 3 tables with patrons. After about 5mins the manager came from the back and then told one of the waiters to seat us which he did. The waitress came to our table after a few minutes which was ok, we ordered drinks and our daughters meal, then advised her we needed more time for our selection, she returned within 7 or so minutes and we ordered, this was at 7:05pm, we sat there waiting for an hour to then be told by our waitress If the food want out in 10mins she could get us a soda we declined this offer as we do not drink soda. At 8:30pm we noticed 2 other tables had been served in front of us so we got up to leave, only to have the waitress tell us the chef had messed up and it would be 1 min away......1 minute to late was our response. Not happy at all with their service.

Forgotten.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank kiwiinus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CobbandCoRestaurant, Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thanks for reaching out to us Kiwiinus1.
We are all sorry that your night wasn't up to the usual Cobb & Co. standards. Unfortunately mistakes do happen and we are sorry that it happen to you and your family. We have talked to all staff about ways to improve to insure this doesn't happen again. We hope you will give us anther chance for us to serve you the delicious meals and great service you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Food was reasonable and staff were friendly however the Heineken tap beer was flat and unfortunately the manager could have resolved this issue better. It’s a bit dated but they cater for families quite well with goodie bags and kids menu

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank rosscoRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CobbandCoRestaurant, Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Thanks for reaching out rosscoRotorua. We are glad you enjoyed the meals and the kids loved the goodie-bags. We are sorry that the Heineken came out flat, unfortunately that night we had trouble with the keg. We hope you still had a great night and we hope to see you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Searching for dessert after the movies we went into Cobb and Co last night and had a good experience. The Sticky Date pudding was delicious- an oblong plate was nicely presented with the pudding sitting in a tasty sauce, a jug of cream and sliced oranges.. My friend had the ice cream sundae- one of the two gluten free options, the other one being Pavlova. Staff were friendly and efficient, service was quick.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank tissiem59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CobbandCoRestaurant, Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thanks Christine for your amazing review. We are all glad you enjoyed the deserts on your night out. We will see you again on your next night or day out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

We enjoyed the happy service and great greetings when we arrive. Great family place but we miss the PlayStations ☹️thanks

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CobbandCoRestaurant, Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Thanks for your review Christine. We are all glad you had a great time on your night out. Regarding the playstations we decided it was time upgrade to iPad's. Playstations will be missed but iPad's are a lot of fun too. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

Atmosphere was good, food was nice but small portions. Staff were excellent. Super friendly although they were extremely busy.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CobbandCoRestaurant, Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Thanks Carol for your feedback, we will see you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cobb & Co. also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Been to Cobb & Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing