We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but Nice”
Review of Cobb & Co.

Cobb & Co.
Reserve with OpenTable
Cobb & Co. is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #124 of 425 Restaurants in Tauranga
Price range: US$10 - US$24
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome back to New Zealand's original Restaurant and Saloon! Visit Cobb & Co for a friendly environment and warm charm that is uniquely kiwi. Cobb & Co is the best place for families, offering a fantastic kids area packed with mountains of toys, PlayStations, and a large fish tank. We also have a special menu for our valued seniors. Cobb & Co prides itself on having the best steak around! Our beef is 100% Angus Pure, beginning in the beautiful green landscapes of New Zealand and finishing its journey on your plate, topped off with one of our homemade steak sauces! Here, at Cobb & Co, there is something for everyone, offering a huge menu range, including gluten-free and vegetarian options. Enjoy our wine list of high quality regional wines and renowned national brands, a classic pint of beer, or a colourful traffic light. Welcome home to Cobb!
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Left Mt Maunagui after a nice walk around the beach but confronted with so many people doing the same thing and all the eateries packed out. So decided to wander into Tauranga City Centre to look around for somewhere to eat. Found the Cobb & Co bar & restaurant with views out to the water and a simple but reasonably extensive and well priced menu. Had the Cobb Schnitzel (beef schnitzel with ham & cheese) served with chips and salad. Just the perfect size for lunch, along with a beer. Service was good, waitresses were very courteous and polite. Certainly a much better and quieter place for a bite to eat than at the Mount!! PS: A huge place with stuff for the kids to do also. Give it a go.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ballarattraveller309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobb_Tauranga, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Thanks for the review, ballarattraveller309!
It's good to hear you had such a great day out. We're glad you enjoyed dining with us!
We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2016

I recently had my two grandchildren stay overnight& thought I would take them to Cobb&Co Tauranga.This was my first visit& we were really looking forward to going.I phoned and booked a table for three for5.30 pm.When we arrived we were taken to the verge back of the restaurant to a 'table for two'.The table was pushed up against the wall& 3 Chairs were put around the sides.There was hardly any room for the meal,drinks,bottle of water etc.I told the waitress that I wasn't too happy with the table & she told me that they don't normally cater for a 'table for 3',it's usually a table for 2,or 4,or more.The meal was really just average& way overpriced.
Would I recommend to anyone? No,definately not.There are many other places in Tauranga that I think would have been more accomodating for3 people,and probably would have a better meal for either the same price or cheaper.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank S3444BSsandrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobb_Tauranga, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Hi S3444BSsandrab.
Taking your grandchildren out during their visit is a special occasion. It's great to hear you choose to spend this evening with us. It's very dissapointing to hear you did not receive the experience you deserved. I apologise for the unacceptable size of your table. There is no excuse for not having the required room to enjoy your meals.
I encourage you to dine with us again. We would love another opportunity to give you the dining experience you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Great service and excellent food. We especiallty appreciated the Seniors Menu and considered the price and size of the meal appropriate for an older person.

Thank heatherrD294CD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobb_Tauranga, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Thanks for the review, heatherrD294CD!
We're glad you enjoyed your evening with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

This visit was not our first time at this place, we have been several times and had a few experiences that were fine although the one before this was not and we should have been warned by our previous experience. Silly us.We decided to go back and wish we had not. We waited and waited to be given menus. Finally got them well after people who had arrived after us were actually eating their meal. Then the first course arrived; two of our group had soup which was slopped down and spilled over the edge of the plate. We then waited quite a while for the mains and had to track down a waitress to get another glass of wine. Mains were fine, standard Cobb and Co fare which is basic but hearty. One of our group had ordered dessert and the other two said they would like to make the decision as to whether to have a dessert after the main. We finished the mains and the plates sat on the table for quite some time, then the dirty plates were pushed to the side and the one dessert that had been ordered was "plonked" down and we were told the waitress would "come and get the plates later". Whaaaat! The other two in the group had not been asked if they wanted dessert, but of course worst of all was having dessert presented on a dirty table. There are many options to eat along the Strand in Tauranga. Do not go to this one. Anything would be better. When we left we were given a voucher to compensate for the terrible service. Needless to say we will not be using it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobb_Tauranga, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Hi Kate C.
It is great to hear you are a regular diner at our restaurant. We're glad you've had several excellent evenings with us. It's very disappointing to hear we have let you down on your last two visits. We pride ourselves on friendly, prompt service. There is no excuse for the poor attention you have described. I'm glad you received vouchers for the displeasure you had during the evening. I encourage you to reconsider using the voucher! We'd love to give your group the excellent service that you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

A great family meal. Good food and a range of choice for adults and kids alike. Service was good to, fast, friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this restaurant for families. Also, the ribs were fantastic!

Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobb_Tauranga, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co., responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Thanks for the review, Paul A!

P.S Glad to hear you enjoyed the ribs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cobb & Co. also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Cobb & Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing