We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing don’t waste your money ”

Lone Star Cafe & Bar
Ranked #98 of 447 Restaurants in Tauranga
Price range: US$10 - US$26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The original menu was a combination of comfort food, Kiwi classics and a few Lone Star originals. Some of these dishes from that first menu are still being served today and are as popular as ever. Dishes like the Lassoo of Hog, Dixie Chicken and the iconic Redneck Ribs prove that food fads come and go but good food never goes out of fashion. When you share a birthday with such luminaries as artist JB Priestley and writer Roald Dahl you know you're destined to be different. So it is with the Lone Star which opened its door at 26 Manchester St on September, 13th 1988 determined to create a different dining experience for the people of Christchurch.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

You used to be able to count on the lone star to be good quality at a reasonable price. Very disappointing food no longer of a good quality. I will never eat at a lone star again.

Thank balang007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevord814, Owner at Lone Star Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi
I would really like to talk to you in relation to your comments. We're always interested in following up feedback and seeing where we could improve.

Regards Trevor
021 660403

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

If you like "pub grub" then this place may be for you but be prepared to pay restaurant prices.
The service was sadly lacking, we waited 50 mins for our meals.
Far too long with children.
When the food did arrive the disappointment continued!
The children had some burnt offering of chicken nuggets and chips with the crumbed chicken pieces dark brown over fried bullets. The adult mains, accompanied by the lone stars "famous" coleslaw (famous for tasting of vinegar I assume) were equally disappointing. My steak was beyond average, tasteless and overlooked with the worst caramelised onions you can imagine and oh that coleslaw! At $38 I should have gone to the Harbourside or Macau for a decent meal.
Another family member had chicken swimming in a mushroom sauce. There was nothing enjoyable about the chicken.
This is obviously a place that uses mass produced sauces and churns out overpriced over cooked food.
Seriously don't even think about going here.

Thank GoodTriptips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevord814, Owner at Lone Star Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Hi
Obviously not a very good experience that you had with us. Clearly the wait time and over cooked meals were unacceptable. In regard to the coleslaw, it is made with a in house made vinaigrette and I can appreciate that may not suit everyone's taste. With regard to the steak we do source from a very reputable supplier that ages the product and we sous vide our steaks to get the best result.
All our sauces are prepared in house and like the vinaigrette have been on the menu for many years now.
Celebrating thirty years of Lone Star this month we have clearly hit a cord with the NZ public, but we always accept that we don't always get it right every time especially when we prepare nearly every item in house and there is a high human service component to what we do.
As always I am more than happy to discuss this further with you and apologise for your experience with us. I can be contacted on 021 660403
Regards Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Lone Star never fails for a fun family celebration. The range of ages and meal preferences was well catered for. We booked the family room which made it easier to manage the busy 4 and 2 year olds. The meals came in good time with the ribs being a top favourite. I had the prawns entree size which was a good option. My husband enjoyed the salmon special. Prices were pretty standard and size of meals are the Lone Star norm. Plenty to keep a hard working man happy and even some left over for the chooks at home !
Turn around time was good. Under two hours which was manageable for the young and older ones.
We always enjoy Lone Star as a family.

Thank Dee291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevord814, Owner at Lone Star Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Hi Dee

Great to read that your visit with us was an enjoyable celebration. We look forward to hosting you again sometime soon.

Regards Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

My wife, Grandchild and I went in for a dinner during the week.
The restaurant was relatively well patronised but nowhere near full. Te service was good and the meals regrettably was not great value for money. We have been here before and felt it was good value for money but today the prices are right up there with the best and the quality and quantity aren't (well not on all meals).
I must say I left feeling disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bigrinkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevord814, Owner at Lone Star Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Hi

Thanks for your feedback re your visit to Lone Star Tauranga. Lone Star has just recently released our new menu with new pricing and changes, where a lot of time was spent looking at the current market place trends and prices. As you will know from your weekly shop fresh fruit and veg along with meat pricing has increased and in some cases significantly over the last two years. At Lone Star we are committed to using the highest quality products and believe that we are very competitive in the current market with pricing when you compare the size and quality of our meals.
Should you wish to discuss further I an more than happy to be contacted at the restaurant.
Regards Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

we had corn fritters for lunch , they were yummy. the service was very good and we got value for money. nice environment. easy access . it was family friendly and would go back again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kevinngaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevord814, Owner at Lone Star Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to review Lone Star Tauranga, always great to read that guests have enjoyed our hospitality.

We look forward to hosting you again sometime.

Regards Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lone Star Cafe & Bar also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Lone Star Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing