We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub”
Review of The Crown & Badger

The Crown & Badger
Ranked #68 of 460 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$21
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Description: Crown & Badger is an inviting, traditional English pub with cosy booths and wood paneling, making it one of a kind. The British memorabilia creates a welcoming atmosphere for socialising with friends and enjoying a refreshing Guinness on tap or one of their other extensive beverage choices. Live bands most Friday and Saturday nights giving a great vibe and opportunity for dancing. Sky TV with popular sporting events available. Crown and Badger are located right in the middle of The Strand - the hot-spot for evening entertainment right on Tauranga Waterfront. Crown and Badger are open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with delicious generous size portions at reasonable cost. For a hearty breakfast or brunch try the Badgers Big Breakfast or York's Benedict. The menu for lunch and dinner features a broad range of traditional English pub food. There is a lot to choose from, including Sirloin Steak, salads, burgers, schnitzel, Barmy Army Bangers & Mash and Hearty Lancashire Hot Pot. There are snacks available anytime and Badger Wedges with bacon, cheese and sour cream are said to be the best in town. Call in for coffee and dessert - Chocolate Mud cake or Apple Crumble served with cream and ice cream - decadent but worth it. No need to book at Crown and Badger - just show up.
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Rob and Laura are absolutely super. Excellent new menu and great beer. We will visit again for sure and would recommend.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica R, Owner at The Crown & Badger, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Thanks Richard!
Laura and Rob are great aren't they, I'll be sure to pass this on to them .

Cheers!

Jess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Family and I decided to dine here last night for our first time, we were looking forward to having dinner & drinks here but sadly it was really disappointing. Had to ask staff to come out & serve us after already informing them we were going to sit outside for dinner, when ordering a wine from the menu the waitress informed me they no longer had that wine, that they’d changed their wine list but she couldn’t tell me what they had, so I ordered Shiraz in whatever they had, no idea what it was. We requested if the gas heaters could be turned on but the waitress told us they had a problem with their gas, though there was also x3 free standing gas heaters but we were told no sorry. Asked if they had lap blankets but no. Hubby ordered beef stew but they had run out so went a venison burger instead, son got wedges and I got the seafood chowder, the chowder came out with x2 pieces of fish in it, x2 cockles, some of what I think was calamari rings? Was very chewy & the rest was just lots of carrot & potato, terrible a rather costly bowl of carrot & spud, I bought this to the waitresses attention & she took it away after discussing it with her manager & bought out another which did have some fish in it with x2 prawns, sadly by the time it arrived my family had already finished their meals. x1 wedges, x1 venison burger, x1 seafood chowder, x2 glasses of red, x1 glass of beer & a glass of coke at $109 for a disappointing experience. We decided to leave & went elsewhere to enjoy further drinks. As we walked by other places on the strand they were busy with people sitting outside with heaters going (watching the rugby). I’d like to think if we gave this place another try it would be different. Can’t recommend this place unfortunately.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank ExplorerGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Second visit here and went with the seafood chowder on this visit.
Tastey and plenty of it, the smoked kahawai pieces are a nice touch not a mussell filler in sight.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica R, Owner at The Crown & Badger, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Thanks Shaun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

We had dinner and drinks here. My English girlfriend has been searching for a roast for ages and is constantly let down but she got exactly what she wanted here and loved it.
The staff are friendly and my dinner was delicious

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YummyRashers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica R, Owner at The Crown & Badger, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Yum! I'm thrilled that she finally found a good roast. They're here every Sunday. Will pass your comments on to the team. Thanks for the review!

Jess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

Popped in for the Sunday Roast having just walked past and see the blackboard offer.
Warm inside with fire going. No loud music thank goodness.
From the time of placing our order to table service was fifteen minutes.
Very happy to feel that our plates were pre-heated (and this is a rarity in Tauranga).
Yorkshire pud was crispy. Mashed peas were tasty. Gravy a tad strong.
Otherwise value for money.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Myscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown & Badger also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to The Crown & Badger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing