We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Managed to escape with no clues!

Had an absolute blast! Very professional, can't stop talking about our experience! Will definitely... read more

Reviewed 2 April 2021
sarnge
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Exciting and challenging.

My granddaughter chose this activity as her birthday treat, and what a great choice! We were a bit... read more

Reviewed 14 March 2021
BOOtsie5
,
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Read all 40 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Taupo
from US$79.03
More Info
from US$25.64
More Info
from US$25.64
More Info
from US$35.89
More Info
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
38
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
38
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews escape room clues penalty challenging escaped activity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2016

Loved the puzzles and the staff were really friendly. I hadn't done a locked room before, but had heard about them on when travelling around Europe. Me and my friend were testers for the room so we got to do it before it officially opened. We didn't manage to escape before the time ran out!!!! Would definitely do again.

Date of experience: December 2015
2  Thank rachael_meek32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

Hadn't heard much about this before but thought we'd give it ago. It was crazy but awesome and would recommend to anyone coming to taupo. We'll be on the hunt for more of these challenges. My partner and I did this together,was really challenging at first but got to the end eventually but recommend more than a team of two as everyone thinks differently.

Date of experience: January 2016
3  Thank hannaS4838KJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2016

My girlfriend and I heard about this locked room challenge when exploring Taupo and gave it a go, we booked online and arranged a time. It was a short walk away from the CBD on a beautiful day, the air conditioning was a welcome escape. The room was ready for our booking and we received our instructions. Then we went about trying many puzzles and decoding activities, unfortunately we got stuck a few times but the staff's clues were helpful and got us going again. We didn't make it out in time but it was awesome having the little victories as we went, a great way to spend an hour. Definitely gets your brain working, thanks Locked Room

Date of experience: January 2016
3  Thank Hoote22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLockedRoom, Public Relations Manager at The Locked Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review. You and your team did very well, even though you didn't quite make it out in time. Hope you enjoyed your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

This was a great find on our trip - a locked room in a container! Definitely challenging, needed a few clues but so rewarding and fun!

Date of experience: January 2016
3  Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2016

This escape room was in a shipping container - which was a bit of a surprise to start with! But the room was really well designed and puzzles were very clever - we needed a couple of clues but escaped in the end and had a great time!

Date of experience: January 2016
3  Thank GinaMcFarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLockedRoom, Public Relations Manager at The Locked Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2016

Thanks very much, glad you had a great time. Most groups need a clue or two at some point throughout the game so no need to feel bad! Hope to see you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews