We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
$189
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
$210
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Racklo
Queensland, Australia
Lovely place to stay
Review of Phoenix Resort
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Dec 2023via mobile
Very interesting place to stay for something different. Cute little place with upstairs downstairs apartment. Included your own private mineral pool to use. It’s large enough for quite a few people. All natural piped straight in. Great views from the balcony. With a rose garden and chooks.
Date of stay: December 2023
Room Tip: Park space is a bit tight but fine, like everywhere. Stairs are steep but we were fine with it....
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$173
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Phoenix Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Tripadvisor
$289
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $289
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Phoenix Resort
Free parking
Pool
Bed
Tripadvisor
$174
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $185
1.8 km from Phoenix Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Interior-one bedroom motel
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $155
  • Vio.com
    $146
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Phoenix Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $266
  • Priceline
    $279
0.3 km from Phoenix Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $101
  • Priceline
    $110
2.2 km from Phoenix Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
センターハウス
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $149
  • Priceline
    $189
0.7 km from Phoenix Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $208
  • Algotels
2.0 km from Phoenix Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $92
  • Priceline
    $130
2.5 km from Phoenix Resort
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $144
  • Algotels
8.6 km from Phoenix Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Taupo
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
79
21
11
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
79
21
11
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private mineral pool outskirts of town across the road lady at reception long drive location is great would stay here again kitchen dishwasher unit motel lake bath luxury hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2023 via mobile

We always choose to stay at the Phoenix Resort when visiting or travelling through Taupo. The Hosts are friendly and helpful, you get a discount at the pools up the hill, and the hot pool in our room is always a magic experience for our family. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NickyB321
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 May 2023

A nice family run resort with spacious rooms that provide everything you need. Fridge & freezer, dishwasher, stovetop, microwave. The private hot tubs in each room are a big perk. They fill up fast and it's easy to manage the temperature. What a luxury to have your very own refillable hot pool! The hotel is a little bit on the outskirts of town, but the driving is easy and parking is plentiful. It was very quiet and comfortable and I would stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Eleven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2023 via mobile

Excellent stay at this lovely place.
The bed was eclxceptionally comfortable. The rooms and kitchen are lovely and nicely set up, nice touches around the place with flowers, towels presented lovely etc. Lovely staff
The private spa pool was a lovely bonus.
Highly recommended will be staying there again when in taupo next.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FarAway11439335432
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2023 via mobile

Our Travel Agent booked us into the Phoenix Resort as we had to cancel our stay in Napier due to the cyclone. This is not a resort, more like a motel. The lady at reception showed us to the room and where we could park. The room didn’t seem particularly clean so after she left I pulled back the covers to find that the bed hadn’t been changed and the room hadn’t been cleaned. The receptionist was very apologetic and after ringing the housekeeper said there had been a miscommunication and the room needed to be cleaned. We decided to walk into town and get some food whilst they did this.
The room is very basic and in need of a refurb. The shower cubicle is small and the water pressure kept dropping. Didn’t fancy using the “spa bath” which is in what looks like a wooden shed at the back of the room. Not very appealing! Walls are very thin so you need to hope for quiet neighbours. As our booking had to be made at short notice we had no choice but to stay here. I certainly wouldn’t choose to.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Karen697
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2023 via mobile

Room was well equipped and clean but it could really do with having some money spent on new floor coverings and freshening up the spa pool. Most expensive accommodation we have had in NZ and certainly nowhere near the best we have experienced.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank MichaelTasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews