We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveller rating
620
162
17
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
620
162
17
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath lake end short path private courtyard two story two storey family unit washing machine new zealand laundry facilities living area home away from home lake view friendly hosts stayed for nights little touches stayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 802 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I have just had a two night stay here and we would definitely stay here again. Our room was warm,cozy and clean and we loved all the homely touches. The hosts were amazing too. Out of all the places to stay in Taupo, this was a great find!

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank CarmenT715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for the lovely review.
I'm glad to hear that you loved the cottage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the 3rd time we have stayed with Sonja at Cottage Mews, Taupo. The welcome and service during our stay was warm and friendly and nothing was a problem. The cleanliness of the room was to a very high standard. The King bed was very comfortable - unusual when staying away from home! Even though the motel is located on Lake Terrace, we found it to be quiet of road noise. There is only one room that does not feature it's own private ground floor courtyard - Room 9. It does have a small upstairs balcony but we didn't sit out there as it is quite exposed.The best thing about this unit is the upstairs lounge and kitchen and the view of the lake.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMQuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights for the Ironman New Zealand. Wonderful cottages along Lake Taupo about 3km away from town. Nice cozy rooms with kitchenette, spa bath and private courtyard.

Sonia and Mike are fantastic hosts, lovely people! We truly were saddened when we had to leave and fly back home. We plan to come back to Taupo and would definitely choose to stay here again. Thank you so much Sonia and Mike!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jendsoto0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your wonderfull review Jennifer.
You were such great guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Feel lucky to have happened upon this cottage like property. Spotless. Private courtyard. Fantastic deck with partial lake view. Well equipped kitchen. About to bbq a steak and enjoy the dinner view. Friendly helpful hosts.
Thank you, Kellie & Jeff,

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kellieparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Kellie, for the lovely review.
Enjoy the steak ....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the finest place we have stayed of our trip to date which has included 4 star hotels on San Francisco, Christchurch and Wellington. The quality and standard are of the highest order. Sonia is so friendly and does anything to help. Mike is available in the background. The cottage concept of sleeping, bathroom and toilet downstairs along with living room and kitchen upstairs is spot on. The quality of everything, re cleanliness, linens, towels, kitchen facilities are of the highest order. There are some nice touches re information or offer of full barbecue needs. the location on the side of Lake Taupo is lovely and the town is beautiful. We only stayed one night and should have made it 3 for both the accommodation and town. Room 9 is the best in our opinion as it has a balcony off the living area where you can see the lake from the side and also the view from the window of the living room is lovely.

Room tip: Room 9 has a balcony and lake view at the front, then we would choose room 10 but all the rooms are good
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oakmead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your thorough review, we are really thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews