We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

The motel is just off the road into Taupo and each little mews has its own garden for guests to enjoy a drink or breakfast. Our room was spotless, the bed very comfortable and we enjoyed the spa bath. Nothing was too much trouble and the laundry facilities were a really helpful bonus. Wonderful!

Stayed April 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gollyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    148
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
204
385
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We stayed for 4 nights at Cottage Mews and were totally charmed by the lovely hostess, Sonja. She made us feel very welcome and checked on us daily to make sure that there was nothing more she could assist us with. The rooms were very clean and serviced daily and the private spa bath was really appreciated after the walking the Tongarira Alpine crossing. The free washing machine was a nice welcome surprise after a week on the road and Sonja was really kind in drying our clothes that we had left in the machine when we were out for the day. We would definitely have take advantage of the proximity to the lake and the canoes if we had more time. The little patio behind each room was a great place to have an evening drink. We would stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This place is so special and very cute. The bed was so comfortable and the unit amazingly clean!! It is a little gem. Wonderful hosts. I highly recommend this place. Each unit has a lovely private sunny patio, great for early evening drinks.

  • Stayed April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24682013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2017

My husband and I stayed here for one night, but I wish it could've been longer. We were tucked away in the cozy Nook, where we spent a portion of the rainy afternoon recovering from the previous day's hike. Proximity to beach allowed for lovely evening and morning strolls, and the service was wonderful. The best surprise was being greeted by the owner's cat in the parking lot!

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCr0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2017

We stayed six nights and found the rooms were very comfortable and clean. The hosts were very helpful and friendly. What a great view and lovely quiet lake beach so close.We would recommend this motel and will be back again.

Room Tip: Talk to the host.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnkayhodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.6 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,082 reviews
0.7 km away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.5 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.4 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
2.3 km away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Property: The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price range (per night): $126 - $178
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing