We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for one night, but I wish it could've been longer. We were tucked away in the cozy Nook, where we spent a portion of the rainy afternoon recovering from the previous day's hike. Proximity to beach allowed for lovely evening and morning strolls, and the service was wonderful. The best surprise was being greeted by the owner's cat in the parking lot!

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCr0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    143
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
196
378
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed six nights and found the rooms were very comfortable and clean. The hosts were very helpful and friendly. What a great view and lovely quiet lake beach so close.We would recommend this motel and will be back again.

Room Tip: Talk to the host.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnkayhodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Va
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We checked in and were taken to our room by the owner. We walked into a very pretty room with a queen bed, closet, desk, large bath with shower and a spa tub. I thought it was very nice and then she said "let me show you the upstairs." We thought that our room might up the stairway from this lovely lower level. It was our living room and kitchen with a beautiful view of Lake Taupo. Then we saw the private patio with a table and chairs and the available grill in front. We rented bikes and could have taken out their kayaks or books and games or any number of other items. This was beyond anything we expected and the price was incredible.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 and 10 overlook the lake although I heard very good things about the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed just the one night, and found the hotel to be excellent. Location enabled a nice walk along the lake, and it was quiet and had everything we needed. The room was over 2 floors and very clean and well appointed. The only odd thing was the jacuzzi in the bedroom on the ground floor which made it cramped and we are not into hot tubs.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryantd2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful hotel with wonderful hosts! The comfortably appointed room we stayed in had a spa in the middle of the room, but we never wound up having the time to use it. The kids very much enjoyed the ability to rent kayaks so they could get on the lake and explore a bit.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.6 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.7 km away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.5 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
0.4 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.5 km away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#10 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Property: The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price range (per night): $133 - $178
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Wotif.com so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing