We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“A wonderful holiday.”
Reviewed 3 April 2017

We stayed six nights and found the rooms were very comfortable and clean. The hosts were very helpful and friendly. What a great view and lovely quiet lake beach so close.We would recommend this motel and will be back again.

Room Tip: Talk to the host.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnkayhodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    148
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
204
385
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Va
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2017

We checked in and were taken to our room by the owner. We walked into a very pretty room with a queen bed, closet, desk, large bath with shower and a spa tub. I thought it was very nice and then she said "let me show you the upstairs." We thought that our room might up the stairway from this lovely lower level. It was our living room and kitchen with a beautiful view of Lake Taupo. Then we saw the private patio with a table and chairs and the available grill in front. We rented bikes and could have taken out their kayaks or books and games or any number of other items. This was beyond anything we expected and the price was incredible.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 and 10 overlook the lake although I heard very good things about the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2017

We stayed just the one night, and found the hotel to be excellent. Location enabled a nice walk along the lake, and it was quiet and had everything we needed. The room was over 2 floors and very clean and well appointed. The only odd thing was the jacuzzi in the bedroom on the ground floor which made it cramped and we are not into hot tubs.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryantd2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Wonderful hotel with wonderful hosts! The comfortably appointed room we stayed in had a spa in the middle of the room, but we never wound up having the time to use it. The kids very much enjoyed the ability to rent kayaks so they could get on the lake and explore a bit.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Nothing was too much problem for my host. Very nice room with a spa bath and the lavender essence in the hot bubbly water was just the ticket after travel. The bed was soft-medium and very comfortable. Kitchen was equipped with everything one might need and there was a lovely private space out the back to sit outside and enjoy either a morning coffee or a quiet drink in the evening.
Located in 2 Mile Bay, its only a short drive to the town centre to restaurants but far enough away to be away from the bustle of people in the evenings.
Baie mooi plek! (Very nice place!)

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.6 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,079 reviews
0.7 km away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.5 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.4 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
2.3 km away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Property: The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price range (per night): $123 - $178
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing