We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$136
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beechtree Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chelmswood Motel Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$97
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baycrest Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince Motor Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lake Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails On The Lake(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$122
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (762)
Filter reviews
762 results
Traveller rating
586
156
17
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
156
17
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathlake endlavender oilshort pathprivate courtyardtwo storyfamily unittwo storeywashing machinelaundry facilitiesfriendly ownersnew zealandlocation is greathome away from homestayed longerlake viewminute drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 762 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2017

We checked in and were taken to our room by the owner. We walked into a very pretty room with a queen bed, closet, desk, large bath with shower and a spa tub. I thought it was very nice and then she said "let me show you the upstairs." We thought that our room might up the stairway from this lovely lower level. It was our living room and kitchen with a beautiful view of Lake Taupo. Then we saw the private patio with a table and chairs and the available grill in front. We rented bikes and could have taken out their kayaks or books and games or any number of other items. This was beyond anything we expected and the price was incredible.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 and 10 overlook the lake although I heard very good things about the other rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

We stayed just the one night, and found the hotel to be excellent. Location enabled a nice walk along the lake, and it was quiet and had everything we needed. The room was over 2 floors and very clean and well appointed. The only odd thing was the jacuzzi in the bedroom on the ground floor which made it cramped and we are not into hot tubs.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ryantd2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Wonderful hotel with wonderful hosts! The comfortably appointed room we stayed in had a spa in the middle of the room, but we never wound up having the time to use it. The kids very much enjoyed the ability to rent kayaks so they could get on the lake and explore a bit.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Nothing was too much problem for my host. Very nice room with a spa bath and the lavender essence in the hot bubbly water was just the ticket after travel. The bed was soft-medium and very comfortable. Kitchen was equipped with everything one might need and there was a lovely private space out the back to sit outside and enjoy either a morning coffee or a quiet drink in the evening.
Located in 2 Mile Bay, its only a short drive to the town centre to restaurants but far enough away to be away from the bustle of people in the evenings.
Baie mooi plek! (Very nice place!)

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed at The Cottage Mews hotel in Taupo for what we originally planned was for two nights, but after the first night we realize we loved the place so much that we extended for total of four nights (would've stayed longer but we had to return to the states)!
The hotel is about a 30 second walk to the lake and a three minute drive to city center. It's very pleasantly equipped for a short or long stay.
We stayed in the smaller of the units but it was more than adequate for the two of us. The two-story units look really comfortable for a small family.
What really made it special for us was the wonderful advice provided by our hosts, Sonya and Michael. They suggested excellent places to go for hikes and even set me up with a local fishing guide who was an expert at flyfishing the local streams. We would rate this hotel and Taupo as a must see for any visit to the North Island.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews