We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Nearby Hotels
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$137
Hilton
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chelmswood Motel Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beechtree Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$274
US$177
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails On The Lake(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baycrest Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Chalet Suisse Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (762)
Filter reviews
762 results
Traveller rating
586
156
17
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
156
17
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathlake endlavender oilshort pathprivate courtyardtwo storyfamily unittwo storeywashing machinelaundry facilitiesfriendly ownersnew zealandlocation is greathome away from homestayed longerlake viewminute drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 762 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Wonderful hotel with wonderful hosts! The comfortably appointed room we stayed in had a spa in the middle of the room, but we never wound up having the time to use it. The kids very much enjoyed the ability to rent kayaks so they could get on the lake and explore a bit.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Nothing was too much problem for my host. Very nice room with a spa bath and the lavender essence in the hot bubbly water was just the ticket after travel. The bed was soft-medium and very comfortable. Kitchen was equipped with everything one might need and there was a lovely private space out the back to sit outside and enjoy either a morning coffee or a quiet drink in the evening.
Located in 2 Mile Bay, its only a short drive to the town centre to restaurants but far enough away to be away from the bustle of people in the evenings.
Baie mooi plek! (Very nice place!)

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed at The Cottage Mews hotel in Taupo for what we originally planned was for two nights, but after the first night we realize we loved the place so much that we extended for total of four nights (would've stayed longer but we had to return to the states)!
The hotel is about a 30 second walk to the lake and a three minute drive to city center. It's very pleasantly equipped for a short or long stay.
We stayed in the smaller of the units but it was more than adequate for the two of us. The two-story units look really comfortable for a small family.
What really made it special for us was the wonderful advice provided by our hosts, Sonya and Michael. They suggested excellent places to go for hikes and even set me up with a local fishing guide who was an expert at flyfishing the local streams. We would rate this hotel and Taupo as a must see for any visit to the North Island.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

My wife and I stayed here recently during our time in New Zealand.

We had The Nook – and it was fabulous. As with all the accommodation it’s spotlessly clean and superbly decorated – no scuffs or dings anywhere.

The bed is comfy and there is a little kitchenette to prepare simple breakfasts or suppers.

Best of all is an FOC onsite washing machine.

Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Hello Colin,
I'm happy to hear that all was well with your stay with us. The comfy new bed does give a good nights rest.
Thank you for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Wonderful stay in the family cottage for one night.
Great location right on the edge of the lake, good for a morning walk.
Spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. I normally don't sleep well while traveling and I manged to sleep here, so the room must be comfortable!
Good size clean bathroom. Nice ample amenities, and fluffy towels.
Easy parking too.
Highly recommend the cottage mews for a place to stay in Taupo.

Managed to meet Lilly just before we left too!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cheshirecat910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

I'm really glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Cottage Mews. It is a great spot and a good sleep at the end of the day is very necessary, especially when you are out and about the countryside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews