We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Nearby Hotels
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cove Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wairakei Resort Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sails On The Lake(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gables Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
588
156
17
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
588
156
17
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathlake endlavender oilshort pathprivate courtyardfamily unittwo storeywashing machinelaundry facilitiesfriendly ownersnew zealandlocation is greathome away from homestayed longerlake viewminute drivestayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 764 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed at The Cottage Mews hotel in Taupo for what we originally planned was for two nights, but after the first night we realize we loved the place so much that we extended for total of four nights (would've stayed longer but we had to return to the states)!
The hotel is about a 30 second walk to the lake and a three minute drive to city center. It's very pleasantly equipped for a short or long stay.
We stayed in the smaller of the units but it was more than adequate for the two of us. The two-story units look really comfortable for a small family.
What really made it special for us was the wonderful advice provided by our hosts, Sonya and Michael. They suggested excellent places to go for hikes and even set me up with a local fishing guide who was an expert at flyfishing the local streams. We would rate this hotel and Taupo as a must see for any visit to the North Island.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

My wife and I stayed here recently during our time in New Zealand.

We had The Nook – and it was fabulous. As with all the accommodation it’s spotlessly clean and superbly decorated – no scuffs or dings anywhere.

The bed is comfy and there is a little kitchenette to prepare simple breakfasts or suppers.

Best of all is an FOC onsite washing machine.

Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Hello Colin,
I'm happy to hear that all was well with your stay with us. The comfy new bed does give a good nights rest.
Thank you for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Wonderful stay in the family cottage for one night.
Great location right on the edge of the lake, good for a morning walk.
Spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. I normally don't sleep well while traveling and I manged to sleep here, so the room must be comfortable!
Good size clean bathroom. Nice ample amenities, and fluffy towels.
Easy parking too.
Highly recommend the cottage mews for a place to stay in Taupo.

Managed to meet Lilly just before we left too!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cheshirecat910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

I'm really glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Cottage Mews. It is a great spot and a good sleep at the end of the day is very necessary, especially when you are out and about the countryside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

We loved it and wished we were staying much longer! Lovely welcome, really helpful, beautifully decorated more like a home than a motel, not a beige or brown bit of furnishing in sight thank goodness! Made to feel so welcome, everything you could need, it's just a really lovely place and not what you normally get in a "motel" at all. We were really impressed. We had toured NZ top to bottom and this was our favourite accommodation.
The laundry had everything and powder is included!
A beautiful spot by the lake (although shame someone was able to build a house right in front taking some of the view!).
Lovely to have a little courtyard at the back of our place and right by the lake.
Sonya is just great and has made it just a lovely place to stay. Wish we didn't live so far away or we'd be back very soon!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jennie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Hello Jennie,
Thank you for a lovely review. I'm glad that you were able to stay with us and enjoy the facilities.
Please do look us up when you come back to New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night whilst visiting taupo and friends. It was a very cute and welcoming place.
Double story cottage with queen Bed upstairs with ensure. This was really comfy plus we had a spa bath which was excellent and so relaxing
Downstairs had 2 single beds and everything we needed for a short stay.
Good value for money
Clean comfy and welcoming

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank mcfccarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
I'm glad to hear that you had a good stay and felt welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews