We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet comfortable and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Nothing was too much problem for my host. Very nice room with a spa bath and the lavender essence in the hot bubbly water was just the ticket after travel. The bed was soft-medium and very comfortable. Kitchen was equipped with everything one might need and there was a lovely private space out the back to sit outside and enjoy either a morning coffee or a quiet drink in the evening.
Located in 2 Mile Bay, its only a short drive to the town centre to restaurants but far enough away to be away from the bustle of people in the evenings.
Baie mooi plek! (Very nice place!)

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    145
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
197
382
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed at The Cottage Mews hotel in Taupo for what we originally planned was for two nights, but after the first night we realize we loved the place so much that we extended for total of four nights (would've stayed longer but we had to return to the states)!
The hotel is about a 30 second walk to the lake and a three minute drive to city center. It's very pleasantly equipped for a short or long stay.
We stayed in the smaller of the units but it was more than adequate for the two of us. The two-story units look really comfortable for a small family.
What really made it special for us was the wonderful advice provided by our hosts, Sonya and Michael. They suggested excellent places to go for hikes and even set me up with a local fishing guide who was an expert at flyfishing the local streams. We would rate this hotel and Taupo as a must see for any visit to the North Island.

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2017

My wife and I stayed here recently during our time in New Zealand.

We had The Nook – and it was fabulous. As with all the accommodation it’s spotlessly clean and superbly decorated – no scuffs or dings anywhere.

The bed is comfy and there is a little kitchenette to prepare simple breakfasts or suppers.

Best of all is an FOC onsite washing machine.

Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 28 March 2017
Hello Colin,
I'm happy to hear that all was well with your stay with us. The comfy new bed does give a good nights rest.
Thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Wonderful stay in the family cottage for one night.
Great location right on the edge of the lake, good for a morning walk.
Spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. I normally don't sleep well while traveling and I manged to sleep here, so the room must be comfortable!
Good size clean bathroom. Nice ample amenities, and fluffy towels.
Easy parking too.
Highly recommend the cottage mews for a place to stay in Taupo.

Managed to meet Lilly just before we left too!

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshirecat910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 28 March 2017
I'm really glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Cottage Mews. It is a great spot and a good sleep at the end of the day is very necessary, especially when you are out and about the countryside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

We loved it and wished we were staying much longer! Lovely welcome, really helpful, beautifully decorated more like a home than a motel, not a beige or brown bit of furnishing in sight thank goodness! Made to feel so welcome, everything you could need, it's just a really lovely place and not what you normally get in a "motel" at all. We were really impressed. We had toured NZ top to bottom and this was our favourite accommodation.
The laundry had everything and powder is included!
A beautiful spot by the lake (although shame someone was able to build a house right in front taking some of the view!).
Lovely to have a little courtyard at the back of our place and right by the lake.
Sonya is just great and has made it just a lovely place to stay. Wish we didn't live so far away or we'd be back very soon!

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Owner at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 28 March 2017
Hello Jennie,
Thank you for a lovely review. I'm glad that you were able to stay with us and enjoy the facilities.
Please do look us up when you come back to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.6 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.6 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,019 reviews
1.5 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.4 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
2.3 km away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Property: The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price range (per night): $112 - $171
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing