We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Nearby Hotels
US$93
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot Motor Inn(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
US$61
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$206
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wairakei Resort Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$131
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (763)
Filter reviews
763 results
Traveller rating
587
156
17
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
587
156
17
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathlake endlavender oilshort pathprivate courtyardtwo storyfamily unittwo storeywashing machinelaundry facilitiesfriendly ownersnew zealandlocation is greathome away from homestayed longerlake viewminute drive
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 763 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Great location. Beautifully maintained. Very pleasant walk along the lake into Taopo town. Always something going on on the lake. Plenty of places to eat and a good supermarket in the town. Plenty to see within easy driving distance.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Taupo is a great little town with plenty to do and see.
Thank you for your report

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Decided last minute to stay in Taupo and checked into the Cottage Mews.
The landlady who met us at reception was wonderfully friendly and helpful. The availability of kayaks was great we went straight out to the lake, which was literally at the end of a very short path at the back door of our cottage.
Very clean and comfortable rooms, bbq was clean and rest for me to get cooking with a huge selection of BBQ tools and even an apron!

Will be back to stay here again soon, next time will be for longer than one night.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank I1095VClucasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Sometimes the unexpected can be so surprising and we are pleased to hear of your unplanned stop over.
Please do call us for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

I chose this place primarily due to how close this property was to the lake, and it did not disappoint. If you are looking for a spot that is super close to the lake, I would definitely recommend this establishment. Below are my quick pros and cons:

Pros:
-The fresh lavender planted all around the cottages. When I stepped out of the car, I immediately could smell the lavender. It was really nice and welcoming.
-Parking- lots of on site parking.
-The in room hot tub. Not quite sure if all types of rooms comes with the in room hot tub, but it was really nice to come back from a day of hiking and jump in the hot tub. Also, the owner of the place provides you a nice little cup of liquid lavender gel to pour in.
-Location: location, location, location. Right on the lake! So nice to watch the sunsets and the sunrises.
-Owner: The owner was really sweet and welcoming. She always greeted us with a smile and asked us about our day.
-Hotel Cat: There is a sweet and super cute cat on the establishment, named Lily. She is a munchkin cat. Definitely worth seeking her out.

Cons:
-The only con we had is that the place didn't have A/C, which was minor. It only impacted us in the early afternoon when the sun was at it's peak. To counter this, we just went outside and walked around the Taupo village.

Overall, I would highly recommend and return to this place.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank workanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you for your comprehensive review, and we're really glad that you enjoyed yourself. The weather was just gorgeous.
Lillyput, the short legged cat, (Lilly for short) seeks out new people that she can entice, to scratch her tummy.
Thank you for being such great guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We were fortunate to get the Nook, a cozy room that was perfect for our needs. Good kitchenette, wonderful bed and clean bathroom with fantastic shower. Best of all was the private patio, free washer and good cloths drying rack. Easy access to great swimming beach in front. Good parking outside room and nice waterfront walkway into town. From start to finish we felt at home and made so welcome by the owner. My wife didn't want to leave. 12/10 in our books.

Room Tip: We had the smallest room and it was perfect for the two of us
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Hi Derek.
Thank you for the glowing report and we're glad to hear that you felt at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We stayed two nights here and would have loved the time to stay more. The 'motel' offers more apartment style accommodation. Our room had bedroom (with spa bath) and bathroom downstairs with a kitchenette, lounge/dining room and balcony upstairs offering views of Lake Taupo. There is a small laneway from the property directly onto the lake and the pathway that leads all the way into town. The motel has kayaks and bicycles to hire, is family run and very welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable, especially the bed. The owners go out of their way to provide a lovely experience for example leaving a jug of lavender for use in the spa etc. I understand they are slowly renovating the rooms and they have added some lovely touches to make this a cosy and comfortable place to stay. Congratulations to them.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leap601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

It was great to have you stay with us.
Thank you for taking the opportunity to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews