We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable time in my life”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Did not know what to expect, but it was a wonderful delight. Will not even go into the level of accommodation, it was just perfect. Nothing could be faulted, but a lot could be praised. The landlady and her husband was so friendly and warm, suggesting places where we could go and was always just helpful and friendly. The place itself was immaculately clean with cheery flowers in the hanging baskets. That, and the smell of lavender added to the cottagee feeling. The unit was very comfortable and contained everything someone could ask for on holiday. The lake close by was an absolute bonus. The whole atmosphere was just special. We went kayaking and cycling, all the gear supplied by the owners. Watching the sunset every night from the upstairs balcony was just so relaxing and romantic, followed by a long soak in the spa bath. And it was so awesome to be able to have had access to a clean, well equipped laundry room any time we liked, for free!!! Everything was just so convenient and comfortable. It was also nice just to relax in a quiet, peaceful atmosphere, no loud music or people being loud, not even on New Years Eve. We watched the fireworks from our balcony and celebrated the beginning of the new year quietly with champagne. We actually felt quite close to nature there, although Taupo town was brimming with people on holiday. We were really so sad to leave at the end of our holiday, but will definitely be back again soon, this time for longer. Thank you so much for adding to making our holiday so enjoyable. PS... Lily is the most adorable cat ever, we could not wait for her to come and greet us in the morning!!!! Little Munchkin, mwa

Room Tip: Room 9 & 10 nicest. Closest to the lake, barbeque area and best views. The Nook also nice, ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ZetvdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Thank you ZetvdM, for the glowing review,
I'm really glad that you had a great time with us and I hope you come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 735 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Great location. Beautifully maintained. Very pleasant walk along the lake into Taopo town. Always something going on on the lake. Plenty of places to eat and a good supermarket in the town. Plenty to see within easy driving distance.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Taupo is a great little town with plenty to do and see.
Thank you for your report

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Decided last minute to stay in Taupo and checked into the Cottage Mews.
The landlady who met us at reception was wonderfully friendly and helpful. The availability of kayaks was great we went straight out to the lake, which was literally at the end of a very short path at the back door of our cottage.
Very clean and comfortable rooms, bbq was clean and rest for me to get cooking with a huge selection of BBQ tools and even an apron!

Will be back to stay here again soon, next time will be for longer than one night.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank I1095VClucasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Sometimes the unexpected can be so surprising and we are pleased to hear of your unplanned stop over.
Please do call us for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

I chose this place primarily due to how close this property was to the lake, and it did not disappoint. If you are looking for a spot that is super close to the lake, I would definitely recommend this establishment. Below are my quick pros and cons:

Pros:
-The fresh lavender planted all around the cottages. When I stepped out of the car, I immediately could smell the lavender. It was really nice and welcoming.
-Parking- lots of on site parking.
-The in room hot tub. Not quite sure if all types of rooms comes with the in room hot tub, but it was really nice to come back from a day of hiking and jump in the hot tub. Also, the owner of the place provides you a nice little cup of liquid lavender gel to pour in.
-Location: location, location, location. Right on the lake! So nice to watch the sunsets and the sunrises.
-Owner: The owner was really sweet and welcoming. She always greeted us with a smile and asked us about our day.
-Hotel Cat: There is a sweet and super cute cat on the establishment, named Lily. She is a munchkin cat. Definitely worth seeking her out.

Cons:
-The only con we had is that the place didn't have A/C, which was minor. It only impacted us in the early afternoon when the sun was at it's peak. To counter this, we just went outside and walked around the Taupo village.

Overall, I would highly recommend and return to this place.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank workanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you for your comprehensive review, and we're really glad that you enjoyed yourself. The weather was just gorgeous.
Lillyput, the short legged cat, (Lilly for short) seeks out new people that she can entice, to scratch her tummy.
Thank you for being such great guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We were fortunate to get the Nook, a cozy room that was perfect for our needs. Good kitchenette, wonderful bed and clean bathroom with fantastic shower. Best of all was the private patio, free washer and good cloths drying rack. Easy access to great swimming beach in front. Good parking outside room and nice waterfront walkway into town. From start to finish we felt at home and made so welcome by the owner. My wife didn't want to leave. 12/10 in our books.

Room Tip: We had the smallest room and it was perfect for the two of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Hi Derek.
Thank you for the glowing report and we're glad to hear that you felt at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 km away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.6 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.6 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 68 in Taupo
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
372 reviews
0.4 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
2.5 km away
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
#10 of 68 in Taupo
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: $134 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing