We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Nearby Hotels
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cove Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wairakei Resort Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails On The Lake(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gables Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
588
156
17
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
588
156
17
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathlake endlavender oilshort pathprivate courtyardfamily unittwo storeywashing machinelaundry facilitiesfriendly ownersnew zealandlocation is greathome away from homestayed longerlake viewminute drivestayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 764 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We stayed two nights here and would have loved the time to stay more. The 'motel' offers more apartment style accommodation. Our room had bedroom (with spa bath) and bathroom downstairs with a kitchenette, lounge/dining room and balcony upstairs offering views of Lake Taupo. There is a small laneway from the property directly onto the lake and the pathway that leads all the way into town. The motel has kayaks and bicycles to hire, is family run and very welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable, especially the bed. The owners go out of their way to provide a lovely experience for example leaving a jug of lavender for use in the spa etc. I understand they are slowly renovating the rooms and they have added some lovely touches to make this a cosy and comfortable place to stay. Congratulations to them.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leap601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

It was great to have you stay with us.
Thank you for taking the opportunity to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent value for money. Very friendly and helpful owners, including lily the cat... coolest cat in taupo! Spa bath in room is nice and big and very relaxing. It was very warm while we were there, and the room had a fan which came in handy. Highly recommend!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Juliarna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thanks Juliarna, for the review. It was great to have you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

During our visit to New Zealand, we stayed in this motel for three nights. Good bedroom with facility for spa bath in which we enjoyed a lavender flavour bath. The bathroom and toilet too were very clean. Wifi was available. We visited nearby beautifying and scenic places.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and walkable distance from the beautiful lake
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ushasivadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

We booked here over other places in Taupo due to the great reviews on TripAdvisor. The cottage Mews is exactly what it says it is, little cottages on the lake which are immaculately maintained. I could not fault this place if I tried, if I had to make a bad point it is that it is a long walk to town although on a nice day that wouldn't matter along the lake.

Booking is essential and worth every cent free washing machine and $2 for dryer. Each Cottage comes with a backyard courtyard which you could also dry your clothes on. We used this as our base camp before our Tongariro Northern Circuit trip as it is only 45 minutes from Tongariro National Park and has everything we needed to prepare.

Look out for the gorgeous live-in cat named Lily. Who you see roaming or lazing about in the front patio. If you're lucky she'll let you pat her!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you for a wonderful review. We are so glad that you had fun on the mountain and made good use of the facilities.
I believe that Lilly is the lucky one, with so many admirers. If you ignore her, she will usually saunter past to check that all is well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Cottage Mews is a fantastic place to stay while you're in Taupo. The accommodations are spacious and clean. The cottages have everything you need from a kitchen area where you can cook to an immaculate laundry room (with a free washer). The cottages are exceptionally comfortable and are spotless. Each comes with it's own garden area, which is absolutely lovely. The owners were exceptionally friendly and gave us wonderful recommendations for attractions around Taupo. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you, Rebecca, for stopping over with us.
Please do visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews