We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptionally clean and friendly...great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Exceptionally clean and friendly...great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2017

We were fortunate to get the Nook, a cozy room that was perfect for our needs. Good kitchenette, wonderful bed and clean bathroom with fantastic shower. Best of all was the private patio, free washer and good cloths drying rack. Easy access to great swimming beach in front. Good parking outside room and nice waterfront walkway into town. From start to finish we felt at home and made so welcome by the owner. My wife didn't want to leave. 12/10 in our books.

Room Tip: We had the smallest room and it was perfect for the two of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 27 February 2017
Hi Derek.
Thank you for the glowing report and we're glad to hear that you felt at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    143
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
196
378
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2017

We stayed two nights here and would have loved the time to stay more. The 'motel' offers more apartment style accommodation. Our room had bedroom (with spa bath) and bathroom downstairs with a kitchenette, lounge/dining room and balcony upstairs offering views of Lake Taupo. There is a small laneway from the property directly onto the lake and the pathway that leads all the way into town. The motel has kayaks and bicycles to hire, is family run and very welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable, especially the bed. The owners go out of their way to provide a lovely experience for example leaving a jug of lavender for use in the spa etc. I understand they are slowly renovating the rooms and they have added some lovely touches to make this a cosy and comfortable place to stay. Congratulations to them.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leap601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 27 February 2017
It was great to have you stay with us.
Thank you for taking the opportunity to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent value for money. Very friendly and helpful owners, including lily the cat... coolest cat in taupo! Spa bath in room is nice and big and very relaxing. It was very warm while we were there, and the room had a fan which came in handy. Highly recommend!

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Juliarna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 27 February 2017
Thanks Juliarna, for the review. It was great to have you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2017

During our visit to New Zealand, we stayed in this motel for three nights. Good bedroom with facility for spa bath in which we enjoyed a lavender flavour bath. The bathroom and toilet too were very clean. Wifi was available. We visited nearby beautifying and scenic places.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and walkable distance from the beautiful lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ushasivadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 27 February 2017
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

We booked here over other places in Taupo due to the great reviews on TripAdvisor. The cottage Mews is exactly what it says it is, little cottages on the lake which are immaculately maintained. I could not fault this place if I tried, if I had to make a bad point it is that it is a long walk to town although on a nice day that wouldn't matter along the lake.

Booking is essential and worth every cent free washing machine and $2 for dryer. Each Cottage comes with a backyard courtyard which you could also dry your clothes on. We used this as our base camp before our Tongariro Northern Circuit trip as it is only 45 minutes from Tongariro National Park and has everything we needed to prepare.

Look out for the gorgeous live-in cat named Lily. Who you see roaming or lazing about in the front patio. If you're lucky she'll let you pat her!!

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 27 February 2017
Thank you for a wonderful review. We are so glad that you had fun on the mountain and made good use of the facilities.
I believe that Lilly is the lucky one, with so many admirers. If you ignore her, she will usually saunter past to check that all is well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.6 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.7 km away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.5 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
0.4 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.5 km away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#9 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Property: The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price range (per night): $135 - $179
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing