We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Nearby Hotels
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Gables Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wairakei Resort Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Cove Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails On The Lake(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
588
156
17
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
588
156
17
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathlake endlavender oilshort pathprivate courtyardfamily unittwo storeywashing machinelaundry facilitiesfriendly ownersnew zealandlocation is greathome away from homestayed longerlake viewminute drivestayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 764 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

We booked here over other places in Taupo due to the great reviews on TripAdvisor. The cottage Mews is exactly what it says it is, little cottages on the lake which are immaculately maintained. I could not fault this place if I tried, if I had to make a bad point it is that it is a long walk to town although on a nice day that wouldn't matter along the lake.

Booking is essential and worth every cent free washing machine and $2 for dryer. Each Cottage comes with a backyard courtyard which you could also dry your clothes on. We used this as our base camp before our Tongariro Northern Circuit trip as it is only 45 minutes from Tongariro National Park and has everything we needed to prepare.

Look out for the gorgeous live-in cat named Lily. Who you see roaming or lazing about in the front patio. If you're lucky she'll let you pat her!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you for a wonderful review. We are so glad that you had fun on the mountain and made good use of the facilities.
I believe that Lilly is the lucky one, with so many admirers. If you ignore her, she will usually saunter past to check that all is well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Cottage Mews is a fantastic place to stay while you're in Taupo. The accommodations are spacious and clean. The cottages have everything you need from a kitchen area where you can cook to an immaculate laundry room (with a free washer). The cottages are exceptionally comfortable and are spotless. Each comes with it's own garden area, which is absolutely lovely. The owners were exceptionally friendly and gave us wonderful recommendations for attractions around Taupo. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you, Rebecca, for stopping over with us.
Please do visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

When we first arrived I was amazed by how beautiful the accommodation was and how friendly the owner was. It is located close to the main area and walking tracks close by. The only issue I had was the mattress I slept on was old and I could feel the springs. I was the only one that had this issue. Other then that I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting the area

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Hello Rachel,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
I am really glad you enjoyed staying with us.
Thank you for pointing out that the mattress has become soft.
We have all ready replaced most mattresses in the last year and
have ordered new single mattresses which should improve your sleep next time you visit us.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We stayed here for two nights at the end of January and found the accomodation extremely comfortable and good value. We received an extremely warm and friendly welcome and were really surprised at just how well kitted out the kitchenette was (it was our first stay at an NZ motel and set the bar very high). Free use of the laundry facilities was a bonus. We walked in for dinner one night (a decent 30 min walk each way along the lakeside!) and dined at The Plough closer by on the second night. We noticed that the nearby sailing club did pizzas and regretted missing out but did stop by for an excellent coffee on the morning we left.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben_Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thanks, Ben and Susan, for your review.
The sailing center does a very good pizza and is also popular for a beer or wine on a Sunday night, as they usually have a live band.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Clean clean clean, and to us that's important. Very charming accomodation, relaxed, handy to the lake, just down a little private park. Lovely walks or bike riding by the lake. We had a full kitchen with cute retro fridge etc. comfortable clean bedding. Loved the wee private patio. The free wifi was excellent. Could go on about the friendly host, Sonyaand the beautiful cat, Lilly.....but advise you experience this motel yourselves.

Room Tip: All excellent
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PaulineTAntrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews