We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2017

During our visit to New Zealand, we stayed in this motel for three nights. Good bedroom with facility for spa bath in which we enjoyed a lavender flavour bath. The bathroom and toilet too were very clean. Wifi was available. We visited nearby beautifying and scenic places.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and walkable distance from the beautiful lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ushasivadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

We booked here over other places in Taupo due to the great reviews on TripAdvisor. The cottage Mews is exactly what it says it is, little cottages on the lake which are immaculately maintained. I could not fault this place if I tried, if I had to make a bad point it is that it is a long walk to town although on a nice day that wouldn't matter along the lake.

Booking is essential and worth every cent free washing machine and $2 for dryer. Each Cottage comes with a backyard courtyard which you could also dry your clothes on. We used this as our base camp before our Tongariro Northern Circuit trip as it is only 45 minutes from Tongariro National Park and has everything we needed to prepare.

Look out for the gorgeous live-in cat named Lily. Who you see roaming or lazing about in the front patio. If you're lucky she'll let you pat her!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you for a wonderful review. We are so glad that you had fun on the mountain and made good use of the facilities.
I believe that Lilly is the lucky one, with so many admirers. If you ignore her, she will usually saunter past to check that all is well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Cottage Mews is a fantastic place to stay while you're in Taupo. The accommodations are spacious and clean. The cottages have everything you need from a kitchen area where you can cook to an immaculate laundry room (with a free washer). The cottages are exceptionally comfortable and are spotless. Each comes with it's own garden area, which is absolutely lovely. The owners were exceptionally friendly and gave us wonderful recommendations for attractions around Taupo. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you, Rebecca, for stopping over with us.
Please do visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

When we first arrived I was amazed by how beautiful the accommodation was and how friendly the owner was. It is located close to the main area and walking tracks close by. The only issue I had was the mattress I slept on was old and I could feel the springs. I was the only one that had this issue. Other then that I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting the area

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Hello Rachel,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
I am really glad you enjoyed staying with us.
Thank you for pointing out that the mattress has become soft.
We have all ready replaced most mattresses in the last year and
have ordered new single mattresses which should improve your sleep next time you visit us.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We stayed here for two nights at the end of January and found the accomodation extremely comfortable and good value. We received an extremely warm and friendly welcome and were really surprised at just how well kitted out the kitchenette was (it was our first stay at an NZ motel and set the bar very high). Free use of the laundry facilities was a bonus. We walked in for dinner one night (a decent 30 min walk each way along the lakeside!) and dined at The Plough closer by on the second night. We noticed that the nearby sailing club did pizzas and regretted missing out but did stop by for an excellent coffee on the morning we left.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben_Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thanks, Ben and Susan, for your review.
The sailing center does a very good pizza and is also popular for a beer or wine on a Sunday night, as they usually have a live band.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.6 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.7 km away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.6 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 68 in Taupo
342 reviews
0.4 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
2.3 km away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 68 in Taupo
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: $138 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing