We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot to have breakfast with the KIDS!”
Review of Spoon and Paddle

Spoon and Paddle
Ranked #7 of 151 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Lonely Planet says: Filling a spacious and airy 1950s house with colourful decor, Spoon & Paddle is more evidence you'll find great cafes pretty well anywhere in NZ. Excellent coffee partners with a concise beer and wine list, and the energetic and youthful owners focus on delivering dishes like tasty lamb shoulder tortillas, and just maybe the country's best eggs Benedict. A mini-fort in the garden will get the kids exploring, while Mum and Dad tuck into mid-afternoon treats like macaroons or lemon meringue pie
Restaurant details
Description: Lonely Planet says: Filling a spacious and airy 1950s house with colourful decor, Spoon & Paddle is more evidence you'll find great cafes pretty well anywhere in NZ. Excellent coffee partners with a concise beer and wine list, and the energetic and youthful owners focus on delivering dishes like tasty lamb shoulder tortillas, and just maybe the country's best eggs Benedict. A mini-fort in the garden will get the kids exploring, while Mum and Dad tuck into mid-afternoon treats like macaroons or lemon meringue pie
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On recommendation, we tried their french toast, eggs bene and pikelets which were all yummy but very, very sweet - will not suggest this if you're counting calories.

There are outdoor spaces with picnic tables and a small playhouse with swings for those below 5yrs of age to play around.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank liminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The gingerbread french toast is amazing. Both if us had it and both very happy. Lovely coffee as well. Fast, friendly and efficient service too.

1  Thank Boydgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We USED to love this place. It was our first port of call in Taupo, however not sure what has happened in recent months but to me it seems to have gone downhill.
Ordered an americano with milk on the side and received an espresso with cold milk on the side which was larger than the coffee???? Anyway took this as a mistake. We decided to share a plate of fries with curry sauce (Sri Lankan coconut pork) and the curry was delicious, however the fries were just bulk standard frozen fries. I was expecting at least homemade or wedges for the price of the dish.
Cake time - and this time I was having a cappuccino! I ordered the Black Forest Gateau which was very dry and NOT GOOD. So I stole hubby's Passion Fruit Cheesecake, which was nice. I did notice that they charge an extra $1 for cream or yoghurt, which I thought was really off!
Anyway - very disappointed this trip. Be interesting to see if anyone else agrees with this.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank k2512b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrMukesh, Manager at Spoon and Paddle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are obviously disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your experience at all while eating eating at Spoon and paddle.
We found your comment about our loaded srilankan curry fries interesting in view of the fact that this is the 1st negative comment recieved about this lovely dish and very strange for me to hear that how come is this possible that your felt this in frozen condition.

Also disappointed that you didn’t enjoy other aspects of your meal as we pride ourselves in providing innovative full flavour dishes to our customers.
We have a policy of checking back with our guests during dining. If somehow this was not done we apologise however if you were so unhappy you please could have alerted our staff about your concerns.
We still do apologise for your experience at Spoon and paddle and we will still make sure to check everything we do.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went here on a day trip to Taupo because of the other reviews. Not sure if we had an off day here but the food was not up to it. Service good, counter good and staff great but the food .......... I had the Waldorf which when it arrived (for $19) was in a small desert ball and consisted mostly of lettuce - certainly not value at all for $19. She had eggs benedict with a request for the bacon to be well done - which it was. Unfortunately so were the eggs which were hard with no run on them at all. The coffee was excellent but the food in terms of price and quality simply did not met expectation which is reflected in the rating. Maybe we got the wrong kitchen person that day?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Try the egg bene!! It's so delicious, the next day I came back for it! Cute house, with nice garden. Order at the counter, then take a seat. WiFi is strong, water is free. Seating options: picknick tables, couches or regular table seats. Many gluten free options. Staff is friendly and helpful!

1  Thank Matty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spoon and Paddle also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Spoon and Paddle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing