We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$62
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/21
eDreams
Expedia.com
US$62
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/21
Booking.comUS$62
Hotels.comUS$62
PricelineUS$62
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
67
145
117
85
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
67
145
117
85
69
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2016

We enjoyed staying at Wellesley on the Lake in Taupo, New Zealand. We had a fantastic trip. The service was great as were the staff. As they say. Well this place has the location on the lake. Easy walking around even though we did not take advantage of it. We were just passing through and this was a stop fr the evening, I recommend this location.

Room tip: Great views and good food
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne C, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

We love your recent review - thanks for sharing with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

stayed here for one night with my husband. staff are good. room was cosy and neat. great location, just a few minutes away from the shops. was not able to try their food though as we were out most of the time.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamannebalila
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne C, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

We appreciate the time you took to provide a review on your stay at the Wellesley Hotel on Lake Taupo. Sounds like you had a very enjoyable stay. We look forward to your next visit! Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Wellesley on the Lake for one night while we were down in Taupo for a skydive.
The room had everything we needed, toilet, shower, tv, coffee making facilities. The rooms are exceptionally small, but we spent most of our time out and about so it didn't matter to us. The staff were friendly and the rates were good.
Awesome location on the main road facing the lake. 5 min stroll to shops and restaurants.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank penny_layn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne C, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Great to hear that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are lucky enough to offer 6 room configurations all of varying sizes. Sounds like you may of booked our budget level entry room which is small but more than acceptable. I hope you had a great time leaping out of a plane. We look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed job Taupo for a weekend and found Wellesley reasonably priced.
Room was great, just what we needed as when on holiday. Our room was clean and we were surprised at how big it was after reading other comments. Restaurant was lovely, meals were massive.
Only downside was the spa pool was a little bit cold for our liking.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne C, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

We appreciate your providing a review on your stay at the Wellesley Hotel on Lake Taupo. Sounds like you had a very positive stay. Please do come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

The room was very small, the cleaning each day was sub standard. The tea/coffee facilities very minimal. Parking was a night mare. Restaurant was fully booked with no notification given that booking was essential.

Room tip: Don't bother
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dawnielee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne C, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The room that you booked was our smallest budget room - we have 5 other configurations that are larger and may have better met with your approval. They should have certainly been very clean - apologies if this was a shortfall during your stay. I have shared this with our housekeeping team. Our restaurant can be very popular with people walking in off the street and on some nights its a case of first in first served. Great for us to popular but not so great if you missed out. Hopefully we'll see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews