We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Serving Good Food and Drink”

Waterside Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #30 of 161 Restaurants in Taupo
Price range: US$8 - US$21
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Serving, Lunch and Dinner you'll soon discover Waterside's reputation for great casual dining and fantastic meals to meet everybody's needs.Take in the stunning views of the lake and mountains while you enjoy being looked after by our friendly staff, try one of our creative cocktails or speciality coffees. Fantastic outdoor dining in summer, and a fireplace to keep you warm in the winter.Enjoy!!
Reviewed 17 January 2019 via mobile

Waterside is in a line of bars and restaurants but it is a grade above most of its neighbours.
We were greeted by a friendly girl and offered an inside or outside table. We opted for an inside window table with views over the Lake.
There is an excellent menu which suits all tastes and prices are very reasonable. We all enjoyed what we choose, I loved the rack of lamb served with its own vegetables.
There is a short wine list offering, beer, spirits and wine.
What made our visit so nice was the cheerful, friendly waitress.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank JamesBischoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2019

Ordered the seafood platter. Was disappointed as it seemed to have more bread than seafood and what seafood there was, was the bare minimum - two very small oysters hardly worth putting on the plate, 2 small skewers of prawn and scallop, cold mussels and some deep fried fish pieces. Certainly not worth the money paid.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Monique8765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2019

I always call in when I am in Taupo.Its not the flashest establishment but I have always had very good meals.And where else in Taupo can you get $6 beers.Great view of the lake and the traffic.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019 via mobile

My wife and I had meal at Waterside and came away disappointed.We shared a pate which quite nice .However the mains fish for my wife and chicken for me were bland.Well cooked but lacking flavor.The staff friendly and helpful and the atmosphere excellent.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank petere508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019

We always visit for the most popular Freak-shakes! it is absolutely a must have when you're visiting Taupo.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank yaso001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterside Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Waterside Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing